Music -- Books and Recordings
Battle Notes: Music of the Vietnam War by
"This book is the only complete discography of all the music of the Vietnam era. Complied by history professor, Lee Andresen, the book details famous and infamous songs. It highlights obscure and unknown tunes. A tremendous source of accurate information Many fun illustrations."
Call Number: ML3477 .A52x 2000 (in Kroch Asia stacks, level B1)Publication Date: 2000 (Superior, WI : Savage Press)
We Gotta Get Out of This Place: the Soundtrack of the Vietnam War by
For a Kentucky rifleman who spent his tour trudging through Vietnam's Central Highlands, it was Nancy Sinatra's "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'." For a "tunnel rat" who blew smoke into the Viet Cong's underground tunnels, it was Jimi Hendrix's "Purple Haze." For a black marine distraught over the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr., it was Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools." And for countless other Vietnam vets, it was "I Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die," "Who'll Stop the Rain," or the song that gives this book its title. In We Gotta Get Out of This Place, Doug Bradley and Craig Werner place popular music at the heart of the American experience in Vietnam. They explore how and why U.S. troops turned to music as a way of connecting to each other and the World back home and of coping with the complexities of the war they had been sent to fight. .
Call Number: ML3918.P67 B73 2015 (Cox Music Library, Lincoln Hall) Also full text online, choose "PDF Download" to read chapters.Publication Date: 2015 ( Amherst : University of Massachusetts Press)
- Smithsonian Global Sound for LibrariesIncludes traditional music of Vietnam as well as war-time songs of both the North (Communist soldiers) and anti-war rallies, teach-ins and songs in the U.S.
- Good Morning, VietnamA sound collage of the war: sonar, tank caterpillars and machine-gun fire overshadow a schoolchildren’s math lesson and a prayer for peace prayed by a monk; we observe American soldiers blunting their confusion with booze, as they make arrangements with prostitutes…One man wonders, “I don’t even know what I’ll do when I get back to the world, but I hope I’ll do something good
- We Gotta Get Out of This PlaceYoutube video of popular G.I song. Video created by Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum as part of its ongoing effort to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Vietnam War.
- A Veteran’s Playlist: The Top 10 Vietnam War Songs(Doug Bradley, author of We Gotta Get Out of this Place book on Vietnam War music) "Every soldier had his own soundtrack to the war, but these stand out."
Photography
Vietnam -- The Real War by
To cover the Vietnam War, the Associated Press gathered an extraordinary group of superb photojournalists in its Saigon bureau, creating one of the great photographic legacies of the 20th century. Collected here are images that tell the story of the war that left a deep and lasting impression on American life.
Call Number: DS 557.72 A87 2013 + (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 2013 (New York : Abrams)
Nam: a Photographic History by
"Military and press photographers, camera-wielding soldiers, and civilians all took the opportunity to record the harrowing events of the 1960s and early '70s. NAM: A Photographic History features the images and stories that document this tumultuous era, revealing sides of the war never seen before and shedding new light on this decades old conflict"
Call Number: DS 557.7 D375x 2001++ (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 2002 (New York, NY : Metro Books)
Requiem: by the Photographers who Died in Vietnam and Indochiina by
Between the height of the French Indochina War in the fifties and the fall of Phnom Penh and Saigon in 1975, 135 photographers from all sides of the conflict are recorded as missing or having been killed. This book is a memorial to those men and women, and in many cases it includes the last photographs they took.Horst Faas and Tim Page, two photographers who worked and were wounded in Vietnam, have gathered many thousands of pictures by those who were killed. The list of the dead includes some of the greatest photographers of the century, such as Robert Capa and Larry Burrows, and some who had been working in Vietnam for only a matter of days before their deaths. A number of the Cambodian photographers working for the Western press were executed. Other photographers, like Sean Flynn and Dana Stone, disappeared. Their loss inspired Tim Page to begin this memorial. The resulting sequence of photographs follows the course of the war and the transformation of the serene landscapes of Cambodia and Vietnam into scenes of nightmarish devastation.
Call Number: DS 557.72 F33x 1997 ++ (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 1997 (New York : Random House)
Vietnam by
The first book by one of the world's legendary photojournalists, [this book] is a long-awaited landmark. Adams' 1968 Pulitzer Prize-winning photograph cemented his reputation in the public eye and stands forever as an icon for the brutality of our last century: the image of Nguyen Ngoc Loan, police chief of Saigon, firing a bullet at the head of a Vietcong prisoner. Adams' image fueled antiwar sentiment that ultimately changed the course of history....Through astonishing never-before-seen pictures, articles written by Adams, pages from journals, and other artifacts, one great journalist's experience of the war is told in gripping detail. Edited by Alyssa Adams, with an essay by AP Bureau Chief Hal Buell, and contributions by Peter Arnett, Tom Brokaw, David Halberstam, George Esper, David Kennerly, Dirck Halstead, Tom Curley, Kerry Kennedy, and more, this is a classic of modern history and photography.
Call Number: TR820.6 .A33 2009 ++ (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)ISBN: 9781884167966Publication Date: 2008 (New York : Umbrage ; [London] : Turnaround [distributor)
We Shot the War Overseas Weekly in Vietnam by
With its mix of hard-hitting military exposés, pinups, and comic strips, Overseas Weekly -- led by two female journalists -- earned a reputation as a muckraking truth teller. Time magazine called it "the least popular publication at the Pentagon." From 1966 to 1972, the paper's reporters and photographers tackled controversial topics, including courts-martial, racial discrimination, drug use, and opposition to command. And they published some of the most intimate portraits of American GIs and Vietnamese civilians, taken with the specific purpose of documenting the daily life of individuals caught in the world's most grueling and disputed conflict.
Call Number: DS557.72 .W4 2018 +Publication Date: 2018 (Stanford, California : Hoover Institution Press)
Viet Cong: A Photographic Portrait by
"This work will strip away the myth and mystery which surrounds the Viet Cong and, through the medium of their own candid photography, present them in human terms. They were everything we were - resourceful, cunning, adaptable, and most of all, human. As did our own American soldiers, they endured life in some of the harshest, most inhospitable terrain on earth This book portrays the Viet Cong as seen through their own photography. A cultural obsession, photographs were taken wherever and whenever possible. On many occasions, Allied forces were able to capture such photos. It is from such sources that these photographs are made available, most for the first time ever, to the general public."
Call Number: DS 557.72 E44x + 1999 (In Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 1999 ( Atglen, PA : Schiffer Pub)
Khoảnh khá̆c -- Moments : ảnh phóng sự vè̂ chié̂n tranh Việt Nam = photograph material on the Vietnam war = photos de guerre by
Text & captions in French, English, Vietnamese. Doan Cong Tinh was a "fighter-photographer" with the People's Army Daily in the "long and arduous war of resistance to foreign invaders and for national reunification." A highlight of his career was photos of the Tri-Thien battlefield 1971-1972.
Call Number: DS 557.72 D63 2005 +Publication Date: 2005 ( [Thành phó̂ Hò̂ Chí Minh] : Nhà xuá̂t bản Thành phó̂ Hò̂ Chí Minh)
Art
As Seen by Both Sides: American and Vietnamese Artists Look at the War by
For the first time since the end of the Second Indochina War, works on the war and its aftermath by both Vietnamese and American artists have been brought together in an exhibition that will travel in both countries. Included are works by twenty Vietnamese and twenty American artists, most of whom are veterans of the war and all of whom testify to the irrevocable impact of that experience on their work.... The Vietnamese pieces have never been exhibited in the United States. Many were created in the field by soldiers who have used whatever materials were at hand and who carried their work around with them for years. This book also includes a photograph of and interview with each artist.
Call Number: N 6512 A78 + (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 1991 (Boston, Mass. : Indochina Arts Project, William Joiner Foundation ; Amherst, MA : Distributed by the University of Massachusetts Press)
A Different War: Vietnam in Art by
Gathers paintings, sculpture, and photographs dealing with the Vietnam War, including protest art and veteran's impressions.
Call Number: N 6512 L57x 1990 + (in Kroch Asia stacks level 1)Publication Date: 1990 (Bellingham, Wash. : Whatcom Museum of History and Art ; Seattle : Real Comet Press)
Vietnam Behind the Lines by
This fully color-illustrated catalogue presents another aspect of the conflict, as seen by North Vietnamese artists who created these images of war from behind the lines. Included are 130 works on paper, ranging from sketches on cardboard to paintings on traditional Vietnamese rice paper. Watercolors, pen and ink sketches, pencil drawings, chalk designs, ink paintings and acrylics are all represented in this unique archive, the first to be acquired for a public collection outside Vietnam. Some of the artists were engaged in the creation of propaganda material for the government and others were recording the war, but some were simply exercising their creative talents for the sheer pleasure of it.
Call Number: DS 559.8 A78 H37 2002 + (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 2002 (Chicago : Art Media Resources)
Mekong Diaries: Viet Cong Drawings & Stories 1964-1975 by
...Mekong Diaries presents never-before-published drawings, poems, letters, and oral histories by ten of the most celebrated Viet Cong war artists.These guerrilla artists;some military officers and some civilians, lived clandestinely with the fighters, moving camp alongside them, going on reconnaissance missions, and carrying their sketchbooks, ink, and watercolors into combat. Trained by professors from the Hanoi Institute of Fine Arts who journeyed down the perilous Ho Chi Minh Trail to ensure a pictorial history of the war, they recorded battles and events from Operation Junction City to Khe Sanh to the Tet Offensive. They also sketched as the spirit moved them, rendering breathtaking landscapes, hut and bunker interiors, activities at base camps, troops on the move, portraits for the families of fallen soldiers, and the unimaginable devastation that the conflict left in its wake.
Call Number: NC 334 V5 B83 2008 (in Kroch stacks, level b1)Publication Date: 2008 (Chicago : University of Chicago)
Vietnam Posters: the David Heather Collection by
Rarely viewed by the outside world, this collection of posters from the 1950s to the present encompasses a politically significant period in Vietnamese history. With their boldly rendered images of Ho Chi Minh and local heroes; guerrilla fighters, tanks and bombers; factory workers and the urban and rural landscape, these posters reverberate with vibrant colors and innovative graphic language, revealing much about the country's cultural and political climate. An overview of the collection shows how imagery from indigenous folk art, the work of French-trained nationally acclaimed artists, as well as Russian and Chinese propaganda styles have all influenced the unusual, graphically diverse styles.
Call Number: NC1833.V52 H42 2009Publication Date: 2009 (Munich ; London ; New York, N.Y. : Prestel)
