Selected sources of agricultural and related data
This data resource managed by the Food and Agriculture Organization provides data relating to hunger, food, and agriculture for 245 countries from 1961 to the present.
Provides reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. From here you can also access the World Agricultural Outlook Board and the Foreign Agriculture Service.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) provides this internet-based data service to search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
WaterData in an integrated portal providing a one stop access to all data stored in the International Water Management Institute’s archive. Find water, precipitation and agriculture-related data from around the world.
International Agricultural Statistics--More Resources
- agINFRA is a European Commission funded initiative that aims to design infrastructure facilitating the management and access to agricultural data of various types, from a variety of sources, enabling existing search tools and data collections to better connect their data.
- AgriProfiles (formerly known as AgriVIVO) is a search portal giving access to profiles of experts and organizations in the field of agriculture, bridging across separately hosted directories and online communities. .
- CEIC Data provides access to 1.2 million macro-economic time series and statistics from over 50 countries. The number and historical depth vary by country for the employment and labor-related series, but this is an incredibly rich database. In-depth data is available for China, India, and Russia. (Cornell Library Resource)
- CIARD Routemap to Information Nodes and Gateways (RING) is a global directory of web-based information services and datasets for agricultural research for development (ARD)
- Databib A tool for locating online repositories of research data
- EIU Data Services a comprehensive database of economic indicators with historical series, estimates and forecasts, covering 278 series for 117 countries, as well as 40 regional aggregates, over the period 1980 - 2005+ (Cornell Library Resource)
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) FAO has a decentralized statistical system and statistical activities (outlined here) cover the areas of agriculture, forestry and fisheries, land and water resources and use, climate, environment, population, gender, nutrition, poverty, rural development, education and health as well as many others. The Databases and Software page lists several resources, including CLIMWAT a climatic database to be used in combination with the computer program CROPWAT, allowing the calculation of crop water requirements, irrigation supply and irrigation scheduling for various crops. Other specialized resources include:
- Agricultural Development Assistance Mapping (ADAM), a platform that gathers information from diverse databases about agricultural development needs, objectives, in-country activities, and funding modalities, and aggregates the data to generate customizable maps, matrices and charts.
- AGRIS a collaborative network of more than 150 institutions from 65 countries, maintained by FAO, promoting free access to agricultural information, including papers, data, statistics, and multimedia material.
- FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. A national version, CountrySTAT, is being developed offering a facility to store data at the national and sub-national levels, and supporting two-way data exchange between countries and FAO.
- Global Agro-Ecological Zones (GAEZ) Data Portal has been designed to support sustainable management of natural resources for food and agriculture. It contains many features and capabilities including the ability to browse, query, visualize and download tabular and spatial datasets.
- Global Forum on Agricultural Research (GFAR) AR4D Information Gateway provides access to resources developed and maintained by Forum stakeholders and partners.
- Global Open Data for Agriculture and Nutrition Though not a data source in itself, the GODAN initiative seeks to support global efforts to make agricultural and nutritionally relevant data available, accessible, and usable for unrestricted use worldwide. It focuses on building high-level policy and public and private institutional support for open data.
- International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) datasets
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) compiles a variety of statistical data.
- United Nations databases, including
- World Bank Research and Data -national and international statistics, analysis, and advice on global trends in the world economy.
- World Bank Development Indicators - comprehensive database including 1,600 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.
Genetics and Biotechnology
The Structural Biology Knowledgebase (SBKB) is a free, comprehensive resource produced in a collaboration between the Protein Structure Initiative (PSI) and Nature Publishing Group (NPG). The site offers you an easy way of keeping abreast of developments both by the PSI and more generally in the fields of structural genomics and structural biology.
BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) is a set of similarity search programs designed to explore all of the available sequence databases regardless of whether the query is protein or DNA.
The Universal Protein Resource (UniProt) is a comprehensive resource for protein sequence and annotation data. The UniProt databases are the UniProt Knowledgebase (UniProtKB), the UniProt Reference Clusters (UniRef), and the UniProt Archive (UniParc). The UniProt Metagenomic and Environmental Sequences (UniMES) database is a repository specifically developed for metagenomic and environmental data.
Access to data and tools for breeders and researchers, including genomic selection algorithms and analysis capacity, a cassava genome browser, cassava ontology tools, phenotyping tools, and social networking.
This web portal is designed to provide convenient access to peanut genetic and genomic data deriving from U.S. and international research, and particularly from the Peanut Genomics Initiative