Crafts
Indonesian Heritage by Call Number: DS615 .I532w 1996 (in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 1996 (Jakarta : Published by Buku Antar Bangsa for Grolier International )Vol. 7 covers Visual Art of Indonesia and includes various types of crafts, painting, ceramics, sculpture, graphic art, and modern art. Many color illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Malaysia by Call Number: DS591.5 .E53 1998 + (in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 1998 (Singapore : Archipelago Press)Vol 14, Crafts and the Visual Arts. Covers pottery, woodcraft, basketware, textiles, metalware, ceremonial crafts, modern art genres. Many color illustrations.
Balinese Masks: Spirits of an Ancient Drama by Call Number: GT1748.I52 B37x 2003Publication Date: 2003 ( [Hong Kong?] : Periplus)Introduction to Balinese masks-- the cultural, historical, and religious significance of the masks, many of which have never been seen by the public.
Later Ceramics in South-East Asia, Sixteenth to Twentieth Centuries by
This book describes ceramics made from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries in China, Japan, and Europe, which were brought to South-East Asia as a trade item, first by Chinese and then by European merchants. The ceramics- mostly bowls and dishes, in accordance with South-East Asian cultural preferences- range from blue-and-white quality porcelain, economy ware, and fine polychrome ware made to order in China, to mass-produced hand-painted and printed earthenware made in Europe. The ceramics are mostly family heirlooms rather than excavated wares.
Call Number: NK4163 .H36x 1995 +Publication Date: 1995 ( Kuala Lumpur ; New York : Oxford University Press,)
Tafsir Keris: Kris, an Interpretation by Call Number: NK6805 .J87 2012 ++Publication Date: 2012 ( Jakarta : Komunitas Panji Nusantara)A history of the traditional iron blades, their symbols, their mystical and magical attributes, and the rituals of keris.
Jah-hĕt of Malaysia, Art and Culture by
The Jah-Het people have no written language. Their culture and daily life is expressed through wood carvings of people and activities, and of spirits which inhabit every aspect of daily life, every human condition and circumstance, and must be taken into account before any activity. The author explains the geometric designs of the spirit wood carvings. Photos of wood carvings of hundreds of spirits are included,with their names and functions.
Call Number: NK9779.A3 P338x 1997Publication Date: 1997 (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia : University of Malaya Press)
Textiles
Textiles of Southeast Asia: an Annotated and Illustrated Bibliography by Call Number: NK8977.A1 H69w 1994 + (Reference, Kroch Asia Reading Room)Publication Date: 1994 ( Bangkok : White Lotus)Bibliography of sources, with general works and then with entries under specific countries. Color illustrations of textiles.
The Secrets of Southeast Asian Textiles: Myth, Status and the Supernatural by
"Discover the hidden meanings behind traditional textiles..." Fifteen papers by scholars of the James H.W. Thompson Foundation Symposium are presented in this book with accompanying color photos. The chapters cover textiles of Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Call Number: NK 8877 S43 2007+Publication Date: 2007(Bangkok : James H.W. Thompson Foundation : River Books)
Textiles of Southeast Asia: Tradition, Trade and Transformation by
Using an extensive range of locally produced raw materials and an astonishing array of techniques--including applique, weaving, batik and embroidery--the textiles of Southeast Asia are astonishing in their versatility and originality. Textiles are used to fashion everything from everyday clothing to sacred and ceremonial costumes, shrouds and wrapping cloths, hangings, banners and ritual regalia--all of which are represented and explained in this book. This book considers the various ways Southeast Asian textile artisans reacted over the centuries to the steady stream of new and powerful ideas and raw materials arriving from India, China, the Islamic world and Europe.
Call Number: NK8977.A1 M39 2014 + (Also in hardcover 2003 edition)Publication Date: 2014 ( Clarendon : Tuttle)
Through the Thread of Time: Southeast Asian Textiles by
This highly-illustrated book presents the insights of 12 scholars and art historians into the textiles of Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.. Topics cover such diverse subjects as Shan and Thai court dress, Khmer textiles and Cham weaving.
Call Number: NK8877.A1 T47 2004 +Publication Date: 2004 (Bangkok : River Books : James H.W. Thompson Foundation)
Fashionable Traditions: Asian Handmade Textiles in Motion by Call Number: K8872 .F37 2020 (*in Mann Library)Publication Date: 2020 (anham : Lexington Books, an imprint of Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group,)"[This book] captures the complex reality of Asian, handmade textile production and consumption. The contributors reveal the entangled relationships between local artisans, external interventions, and consumers to offer a vivid account of the socio-economic, political, and cultural dynamics of Asian fashion"
Textiles for This World and Beyond: Treasures from Insular Southeast Asia by
This lavishly illustrated book was published to accompany the exhibition Textiles for this World and Beyond, concentrating on the textiles of the Indonesian islands.
Call Number: NK8879 .G58 2005 +Publication Date: 2005 (London : Scala ; Washington, DC : In association with the Textile Museum)
The Book of Batik by
With over 200 photographs, The Book of Batik explores the origins of batik, the materials and methods of production, regional traditions and differences, motifs and meanings, modern influences, batik as costume and as an art form. A list of international batik collections, is included, and a bibliography, glossary, map of Indonesia's batik producing centres and an extensive index.
Call Number: NK9503.2.I5 K47 2004b +Publication Date: 2019 ([Singapore] : Archipelago Press)
Ikat Textiles of the Indonesian Archipelago by
[This book] offers a comprehensive overview of the profusion of ikat styles found across Indonesia, and is the first detailed reference book on the subject. Assessing Peter ten Hoopen's Pusaka Collection from a scholarly point of view, it is worth acknowledging how it illustrates the concept of 'unity in diversity', which the young state of Indonesia chose as its motto upon independence. Here, the interwoven-ness of styles from neighbouring island regions matter, as do their marked individuality and idiosyncrasies. Moreover, it allows for the study not just of the people's finery, but of their everyday clothing.
Call Number: NK9504.7 .H66 2018 ++Publication Date: 2018 (Hong Kong : University Museum and Art Gallery, the University of Hong Kong)
- Batik of Java: A Centuries-old Tradition7-minute video shoeing the creation of batik patterns and the process of lost-wax dying.
[Asian Art Museum, San Francisco]