Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing in the stacks
Books on the fine arts are on the oversize level 1 ("+" call numbers) and on the regular size level 1B (lower level) of the Kroch Asia book stacks. This "Fine Arts" link is a list of specific subjects in the N to NX section, which makes it easier to browse for particular subject areas in the library stacks.
Subclass N Visual arts
Subclass NA Architecture
Subclass NB Sculpture
Subclass NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
Subclass ND Painting
Subclass NE Print media
Subclass NK Decorative arts (textiles, embroidery and more)
Subclass NX Arts in general
Asian Art Museum (San Francisco)
Southeast Asia section. 10 web pages include background info on Islam, Buddhism and Hinduism; videos and photos on rituals, artworks, puppet theater, gods, Ramayana epic, and more. Scroll down to bottom of web page for additional sections on Beliefs, Folklore & Mythology, Geography.
Southeast Asia: An Historical Encyclopedia from Angkor Wat To East Timor by
Call Number: DS524 .S68 2004 + (Reference; in Asia reading room)
Publication Date: 2004
An in-depth, 3-volume historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. Over 800 A-Z entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics. Contains Illustrations, maps, and photographs and a chronology, bibliography, and index.
Encyclopedia of Asian Culture by
Call Number: DS12 .E53 1999 + (Reference; in Asia Reading Room)
Publication Date: 1999 (New Delhi : Vision Books)
Covers a large variety of cultural subjects including houses, entrances & gateways, color symbolism, folk dances, performing arts, cinema, textiles, monuments and more.
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian Art by
Call Number: N5877.A1 C52 2003 (Reference; in Asia Reading Room)
Publication Date: 2005 ( Singapore : Art Forum)
From abhayamadra through zoomorphic, this is an essential dictionary... Now with over 1,300 entries and 112 line illustrations, in a revised and expanded edition Entries range from terms encountered in South and Southeast Asian history, religion, mythology, and literature, to those specific to art and architecture. Words are drawn from the diverse religious traditions of the region, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Sikhism, and Taoism, and from the countries of the region, including Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Call Number: DS 615 I532w 1996 (Reference; in Asia reading room)
Publication Date: 1996 (Singaproe: Archipelago Press)
Of special interest are Vol.6, Architecture; Vol.7, Visual Art; and Vol.8, Performing Arts. Similar to the Encyclopedia of Malaysia, with many color photographs and color graphics illustrating the text, which covers history, forms and genres.
The Encyclopedia of Malaysia
Call Number: DS 591.5 E53 1998 (Reference; in Asia reading room)
Publication Date: 2001 (Singap[ore: Archipelago Press)
Of special interest are Vol.5, Architecture; Vol.8, Performing Arts; Vol14, Crafts and the Visual Arts (which includes textiles). Extensive information on history, forms and genres with many color photographs and color graphics explaining details of the subject.
CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art
Call Number: NX 581 A1 C38 1994 + (Reference; in Asia reading room)
Publication Date: 1994 (Manila: Cultural Center of the Philippines)
Vol. 3, Architecture; Vol. 4, Visual Arts; Vol.5, Dance; Vol.6, Music; Vol.7 Theater. Each volume covers history, forms, genres, major works, and performers/artists. Many color and black & white photos.
Encyclopedia of Philippine Art by
Call Number: N7327 .A35 2005 + (Reference; in Asia Reading Room)
Publication Date: 2005 (Quezon City, Philippines] : Jamayco Pub. House)
A-Z encyclopedia of works (in color) of more than 180 Filipino contemporary artists. Brief biographical information included in separate section.
Ramayana in the Arts of Asia by
Call Number: BL1139.27 .K36x 2000 +
Publication Date: 2000 (Singapore : Select Books)
Discusses the Ramayana story in order section by section, each of which include variations in art and performances in different countries of Asia. Many illustrations. Has a bibliography, arranged by topic.
Ramayana in Focus: Visual and Performing Arts of Asia by
Call Number: NX680.3.R35 R36 2010 ++
Publication Date: 2010 (Singapore : Asian Civilisations Museum)
This richly illustrated volume captures the fascinating adaptations of the Ramayana in different Asian cultures. The 20 essays cover a wide range of topics on literary, visual, performing, and contemporary arts. Each entry has its own list of references.
The Art and Culture of Bali by
Call Number: N7326.6.B34 R3613 2002 +
Publication Date: 2002 (Basel : Museum der Kulturen : Schwabe & Co)
History of the heritage of art, Hindu influences; folk & court art; ritual in art & performance. Book has a bibliography of sources.