Dance
Chapters on traditional dance and dance drama in Indonesia and Malaysia, are in vol.8, Performing Arts, of Indonesian Heritage (DS 615 I532 1996) and vol.8, Performing Arts, Encyclopedia of Malaysia, DS 591.5 E53 1998. Chapters include discussion, color illustrations & photos. The CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art, NX 581 A1 C38 1994, has a volume (v. 5) devoted to dance. All three sets of encyclopedias are on the Reference shelves in the Asia Reading Room.
- Dance in Bali:Three entries from database Alexander Street Press Dance Online:"Upon the Sacred Stage," "The Art of a People," (performances) and "Dances of Bali" performances with commentary by the dancers.
- Classic dances of the Orient byCall Number: GV1689 .Z37Publication Date: 1967 ( New York, Crown Publishers )Chapters on Classical Dances India, the Royal Thai Ballet, Royal Cambodian Dances, Court Dances of Java, Dances of Bali, Japanese Classic Dance: Nihon Buyo. Includes information on training, costume, masks & make-up, music, technique and more.
Balinese Dance, Drama and Music: a Guide to the Performing arts of Bali by
This illustrated book introduces the most commonly seen traditional performing arts in Bali. the gamelan music, dance, drama and puppetry. Explains the history and function of each performance genre. The book includes a bibliography, a discography, and over 150 specially prepared watercolors of Balinese performers and performances.
Call Number: GV1703.I53 B35 2004Publication Date: 2004 (ingapore : Periplus ; Clarendon, VT : Distributors, North America, Tuttle Pub)- Dance and Drama in Bali byCall Number: GV1703.B3 D53 1938 + (1973 edition also in Kroch Asia stacks)Publication Date: 1938 ( London, Faber and Faber limited )Covers genres of Balinese dance-drama with detailed descriptions. Black & white photos of dancers, costumes, and performances..
The Fighting Art of Pencak Silat and Its Music by
"Pencak silat can be described as a martial art, a dance, or a form of defense" and "a slow dance based on the already very stylized fighting movements of Pentjak." It has "cultural interrelations dance, theatre, education, identity building, ritual and musics..." Traditions, costumes, music structure, techniques and movements and other detailed features of this form are discussed. Photos, diagrams, musical notations are included.
Call Number: GV1114.75 .F54 2016Publication Date: 2016 (Leiden ; Boston : Brill)
Theater and Puppet Theater
See also the encyclopedias Indonesia Heritage and Encyclopedia of Malaysia (vol. 8 . Performing Arts, of each set) and vol. 7 of CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art on Theater.
- Burmese MarionettesThe Mandalay Marionettes Theater Puppet Show. 11 short video performances, such as a comparative dance between a human "operated" by a puppeteer, and a puppet. (from SEADL database).
- Arjuna's Meditation5-minute video from a wayang performance with the scene about Arjuna's Meditation. [Asian Art Museum, San Francisco]
- Wayang Kulit and Gamelan (YouTube)preview of an exhibit at Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by
(Temporary online access) Two volumes. Entries are arranged alphabetically and cover countries as well as terminology, forms of theater, music and musical instruments., and dance in theater.
Call Number: PN 2860 E53 2007 + (Reference, Kroch Asia Reading Room)Publication Date: 2007 (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press)
Silence Speaks: Masks, Shadows and Puppets from Asia by
[This book] is a travel through the many rituals and performances traditions in twelve regions and countries of Asia: Himalayas, (Tibet, Bhutan, Nepal), India, Sir Lanka, Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia (Java, Bali), Vietnam and Japan.Masks, Shadows and Puppets are essential for the enactment of rituals and performances. These surprising, fragile objects of great beauty are not viewed or used as a disguising or as simple forms of entertainment. Often they signal the wearer's willingness to be possessed and receive a spiritual visitation.
Call Number: GT1748.A8 C37 2015 +Publication Date: 2015 ( [Bangkok, Thailand] : River Books)
Communities of Imagination by
...in this wide-ranging look at the contemporary theatre scene in Southeast Asia, Catherine Diamond shows that performance in some of the lesser known theatre traditions offers a vivid and fascinating picture of the rapidly changing societies in the region. Diamond examines how traditional, modern, and contemporary dramatic works, with their interconnected styles, stories, and ideas, are being presented for local audiences. She not only places performances in their historical and cultural contexts but also connects them to the social, political, linguistic, and religious movements of the last two decades. Each chapter addresses theatre in a different country and highlights performances exhibiting the unique conditions and concerns of a particular place and time. Most performances revolve in some manner around "contemporary modernity," questioning what it means--for good or ill--to be a part of the globalized world. Chapters are grouped by three general and overlapping themes. The first, which includes Thailand, Vietnam, and Bali, is characterized by the increased participation of women in the performing arts--not only as performers but also as playwrights and directors. Cambodia, Singapore, and Myanmar are linked by a shared concern with the effects of censorship on theatre production. A third group, the Philippines, Laos, and Malaysia, is distinguished by a focus on nationalism: theatres are either contributing to official versions of historical and political events or creating alternative narratives that challenge those interpretations. Communities of Imagination shows the many influences of the past and how the past continues to affect cultural perceptions. It addresses major trends, suggesting why they have developed and why they are popular with the public. It also underscores how theatre continues to attract new practitioners and reflect the changing aspirations and anxieties of societies in immediate and provocative ways even as it is being marginalized by television, film, and the internet. The book will be of interest to students and scholars of theatre and performance, Asian literature, Southeast Asian studies, cultural studies, and gender studies. Travelers wishing to attend local performances as part of their experience abroad will find it an essential reference to theatres of the region.
Call Number: PN2860 .D525 2012 (also online; click on title)ISBN: 9780824835842Publication Date: 2012 (Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press)
Leather Gods and Wooden Heroes: Java's Classical Wayang by
Covers all aspects of wayang, with color photos and b&w illustrations: the origins, the stories and themes, the characters; different forms of wayang, the dalangs (puppet masters), puppets and music.. Glossary (with illustrations) of principal characters
Call Number: PN1979.S5 I78w 1996 +ISBN: 9812046283Publication Date: 1996 ( Singapore : Times Editions)- Wahyu Senopati Traditional Wayang Kulit from Central Java byCall Number: Music Library Reserve, DVD 703Publication Date: 2007 (Portland, OR : Resonance Media)The DVD contains a short documentary of the background of wayang, and 3 acts of a performance by puppetmaster [dalang] Widiyanto S. Putro and gamelan musicians.
Music
For browsing in the book stacks for books on Asian music, see call number ML section, on both level 1 and level B downstairs.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Southeast Asia by Call Number: ML 100 G16 1997+ (Reference, in Asia Reading Room. Also full-text online]Publication Date: 1998 (New York: Garland Pub.)This online version includes CD audio samples of Southeast Asian traditional music. Volume 4 covers Southeast Asia. Organized by country. "The coverage provides an overview of the region, reviews its music heritage and scholarship, and describes specific musical cultures, genres, and traditions."
- Alexander Street Press Music Online: Gamelan from Central JavaSound track, 1 hour 6 min. long, contains 12 pieces, some with voice accompaniment. Select a track and the "play" arrow. Other albums of gamelan music are available also.
Gamelan: The Traditional Sounds of Indonesia by
An introduction to gamelan music and instruments, both as sound and cultural phenomenon. Includes maps of Southeast Asia, Java, and Bali; photographs and diagrams.
Call Number: ML1251.I53 S76 2004Publication Date: 2004 ( Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO)
