ARTH 3850 The Arts of Southeast Asia: Reference Sources

An in-depth, 3-volume historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. Over 800 A-Z entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics. Contains Illustrations, maps, and photographs and a chronology, bibliography, and index.

Covers a large variety of cultural subjects including houses, entrances & gateways, color symbolism, folk dances, performing arts, cinema, textiles, monuments and more.

A new take on Southeast Asia's complex history, told through art objects and cultural artefacts dating from the Neolithic Age to the present. Through engaging texts and expertly curated objects from the British Museum collection, arranged chronologically and thematically into seven chapters, this volume offers a new approach to one of the most complex and diverse areas of the world. Every object tells a story in a wide-ranging and accessible selection that illuminates the civilizations, societies and local cultures that have defined Southeast Asia over the past 6,000 years.

From abhayamadra through zoomorphic, this is an essential dictionary... Now with over 1,300 entries and 112 line illustrations, in a revised and expanded edition Entries range from terms encountered in South and Southeast Asian history, religion, mythology, and literature, to those specific to art and architecture. Words are drawn from the diverse religious traditions of the region, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Sikhism, and Taoism, and from the countries of the region, including Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Of special interest are Vol.6, Architecture; Vol.7, Visual Art; and Vol.8, Performing Arts. Similar to the Encyclopedia of Malaysia, with many color photographs and color graphics illustrating the text, which covers history, forms and genres.

Of special interest are Vol.5, Architecture; Vol.8, Performing Arts; Vol14, Crafts and the Visual Arts (which includes textiles). Extensive information on history, forms and genres with many color photographs and color graphics explaining details of the subject.

Vol. 3, Architecture; Vol. 4, Visual Arts; Vol.5, Dance; Vol.6, Music; Vol.7 Theater. Each volume covers history, forms, genres, major works, and performers/artists. Many color and black & white photos.

A-Z encyclopedia of works (in color) of more than 180 Filipino contemporary artists. Brief biographical information included in separate section.

Discusses the Ramayana story in order section by section, each of which include variations in art and performances in different countries of Asia. Many illustrations. Has a bibliography, arranged by topic.

This richly illustrated volume captures the fascinating adaptations of the Ramayana in different Asian cultures. The 20 essays cover a wide range of topics on literary, visual, performing, and contemporary arts. Each entry has its own list of references.

History of the heritage of art, Hindu influences; folk & court art; ritual in art & performance. Book has a bibliography of sources.