The Military / Nuclear Weapons
- Military Resources listNorth Korean Economy Watch source list for information on the military,
- North Korea’s Nuclear Weapons and Missile Programs(Congressional Research Service). Reports covering 2019-2023.
- North Korea's Cruise-Missile ChallengeIISS -- International Institute for Strategic Studies
- Military and Security Developments Involving the Democratic People's Republic of Korea Reports (to Congress) from Federal Depository Library Program Electronic Collection (FDLP/EC) Archive, covering armed forces, nuclear weapons, defense and military policy, operational readiness. In archive: 2012, 2013-14, 2015, 2017.
- Countering the North Korean Threat: New Steps in U.S. PolicyHearing before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fifteenth Congress, first session, February 7, 2017
- The Persistent Threat of North Korea and Developing an Effective U.S. ResponseHearing before Senate Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific and International Cybersecurity Policy of the Committee on Foreign Relations, Sept. 28, 2016
Kim Jong Un and the Bomb: Survival and Deterrence in North Korea by Publication Date: 2020 (New York, NY : Oxford University Press)"Internal regime propaganda has called North Korea's nuclear forces the country's "treasured sword," underscoring the cherished place of these weapons in national strategy. Fiercely committed to self-reliance, Kim remains determined to avoid unilateral disarmament.
On the Brink: Trump, Kim, and the Threat of Nuclear War by
Former Pentagon insider and Korean security expert Van Jackson traces the origins of the first American nuclear crisis in the post-Cold War era, and explains the fragile, highly unpredictable way that it ended. Grounded in security studies and informed analysis of the US response to North Korea's increasing nuclear threat, Trump's aggressive rhetoric is analysed in the context of prior US policy failures, the geopolitics of East Asia, North Korean strategic culture and the acceleration of its nuclear programme.
Call Number: E183.8.K7 J32 2019Publication Date: 2018 (Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press)
Talking to North Korea: Ending the Nuclear Standoff by
This insider's account blasts apart the myths which paint North Korea as a rogue state run by a mad leader. Informed by extraordinary access to the country's leadership, Glyn Ford investigates the regime from the inside, providing game-changing insights. Acknowledging that North Korea is a deeply flawed and barbaric state, he nonetheless shows that sections of the leadership are desperate to modernize and end their isolation. Ford...provides a road map to avert the looming threat of a war.
Call Number: DS935 .F67 2018Publication Date: 2018 (London : Pluto Press)
Origins of the North Korean Garrison State by
This book draws on North Korean documents and North Korean veterans' testimonies, and demonstrates how the Korean People's Army and the Korean War shaped North Korea into a closed, militarized and xenophobic garrison state....a culture of victimization was established among North Koreans which allowed Kim Il Sung to use this to build and maintain the garrison state. youth and lower classes in North Korea considered the Korean People's Army as a positive opportunity for upward social mobility. and.. became the core supporters of the North Korean regime today. This work illustrates how the North Korean regime has garnered popular support for the continuation of a militarized state, despite the great hardships the people are suffering.
Call Number: UA853.K5 K56 2018Publication Date: 2018 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group)
Nuclear North Korea: a Debate on Engagement Strategies by
Nuclear North Korea was first published in 2003 ...and promptly became a landmark of an ongoing debate in academic and policy circles about whether to engage or contain North Korea. Fifteen years later, as North Korea tests intercontinental ballistic missiles and the U.S. president refers to Kim Jong-un as "Rocket Man," [the book] remains an essential guide to the difficult choices we face. Coming from different perspectives--the authors together present authoritative analysis of one of the world's thorniest challenges. They refute a number of misconceptions and challenge the faulty thinking that surrounds the discussion of North Korea, particularly the idea that North Korea is an irrational actor.
Call Number: UA853.K7 C445 2018Publication Date: 2018 (New York : Columbia University Press) revised and updated edition.
North Korean Military Proliferation in the Middle East and Africa by
[The author] analyzes relevant North Korean military capabilities, what arms the nation provides, and to whom, how it skirts its sanctions, and how North Korea's activities can best be contained. He traces illicit networks that lead to state and nonstate actors in the Middle East and throughout Africa. The potential proliferation of nuclear and chemical weapons technology and the vehicles that carry it, including ballistic missiles and artillery, represent a broader threat than the leadership in Pyongyang. Including training and infrastructure support, North Korea's profits may range into the billions of dollars, all concealed in illicit networks and front companies ....
Call Number: JZ6009.K7 B43 2018 (In Olin Library)Publication Date: 2018 ( Lexington, Kentucky : The University Press of Kentucky)
North Korea and Nuclear Weapons: Entering the New Era of Deterrence by
North Korea is perilously close to developing strategic nuclear weapons capable of hitting the United States and its East Asian allies. Since their first nuclear test in 2006, North Korea has struggled to perfect the required delivery systems. Kim Jong-un's regime now appears to be close, however. [The contributors]contend that the time to prevent North Korea from achieving this capability is virtually over; scholars and policymakers must turn their attention to how to deter a nuclear North Korea. The United States, South Korea, and Japan must also come to terms with the fact that North Korea will be able to deter them with its nuclear arsenal. long-range targets with nuclear weapons? How will and should the United States, South Korea, Japan, and China respond, and what will this mean for regional stability in the short term and long term?
Call Number: U264.5.K7 N825 2017Publication Date: 2017 (Washington, DC : Georgetown University Press)
North Korea's Military-Diplomatic Campaigns, 1966-2008 by
This book examines North Korea's nuclear diplomacy over a long time period from the early 1960s, setting its dangerous brinkmanship in the wider context of North Korea's military and diplomatic campaigns to achieve its political goals. It argues that the last four decades of military adventurism demonstrates Pyongyang's consistent, calculated use of military tools to advance strategic objectives vis a vis its adversaries.
Call Number: UA 853 K5 M53 2010Publication Date: 2009 (London, New York: Routledge)- North Korea's Military Threat: Pyongyang's Conventional Forces, Weapons of Mass Destruction, and Ballistic Missiles by Covers military forces -- KPA, Special Purpose Forces and Special Operations Force of the KPA; nuclear, biological, chemical WMD's, ballistic missiles. Extensive references. #4 of series "Demystifying North Korea"Call Number: DS 935.55 S362 2007. Also full-text online: click on titlePublication Date: 2007 (Carlisle, PA: Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College
SP's Military Yearbook
Detailed armaments and military capacities of world's countries, in the Regional Balance section of the volume. Includes North Korea, with brief essay updating military security and details, where available, of navy, air force, army and armaments.
Call Number: U10.I39 M64Publication Date: 1965 to most current (New Delhi : Guide Publications)
Reunification Issues
- Naenara: Korea is OnePage on official DPRK web site, "Korea Should be Reunified Under the Ideal of One Nation By Itself." Information and articles, including "Three Principles of National Reunification" and Kim Il-Sung's 1980 "Plan for Founding the Democratic Federal Republic of Koryo." There are also links to "reunification" songs.
- Korea Institute for National UnificationWeb site Includes current news, NK Information, full-text access to current and previous issue of International Journal of Korean Unification Studies.
Korean Unification in a New Era by
Report on the CSIS conference of senior-level policy and scholarly discussions on the topic of unification. . It was a landmark event addressing economic, business, political, and security opportunities of unification, and it was cohosted with the National Research Council for Economics, Humanities and Social Sciences (NRCS) of the Republic of Korea and a consortium of other institutions.
Call Number: DS 917.444 K67 2014Publication Date: 2014 (Washington, D.C.: Center for Strategic & International Studies; Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield)
The Attraction of Korean Unification: Inter-Korean and International Costs and Benefits by
Economic ramifications of reunification, studied in three stages of analysis -- Division Dissolving, System Integration and Nation Building, and the Costs and Benefits for United States, China, Japan and Russia. Tables, graphs; references.
Call Number: DS 917.444 A88 2013Publication Date: 2013 (Seoul: Korea Institute for National Unification)
One Korea: A Proposal for Peace by Call Number: DS 917.444 I84 2013Publication Date: 2013 (Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers)
Preparing for the Possibility of a North Korean Collapse by
"A North Korean government collapse would have serious consequences, including a humanitarian disaster and civil war. The Republic of Korea and the United States can help mitigate the consequences, seeking unification by being prepared to deliver humanitarian aid in the North, stop conflict, demilitarize the North Korean military over time, secure and eliminate North Korean weapons of mass destruction, and manage Chinese intervention."
Call Number: ebook: click on titlePublication Date: 2013 (Santa Monica: Rand Corporation)
남북한 의 통일 딜레마 / Nam-Pukhan ŭi t'ongil tillema (The Two Koreas' Unification Dilemma) by
In Korean, but includes bibliography of English-language articles and books; also list of pertinent web sites.
Call Number: DS 917.444 H295 2012Publication Date: 2012 (Soul Tukpyolsi: Haenam)
The Search for a Unified Korea: Political and Economic Implications by
".... What would be the implications if the current North Korean government were to fall? This timely book provides a thorough analysis of the complexities of regime change that goes far beyond the usual media discussion of this topic. The book traces the historical roots of the existence of the two Koreas and their ideological divide. It goes on to review the consequences of South Korea's alternating policies of sternness and sunshine toward North Korea since World War II, and presents an analysis of their likely relative efficacy in achieving re-unification. The book then examines the effect of international affairs on the prospects for stability and reunification on the Korean peninsula ...Finally, it suggests how to proceed if the opportunity for reunification arises... "
Call Number: ebook.; click on title. Print copy at DS 917.444 H93 2010Publication Date: 2010 (New York : Springer)
