Current periodicals
North Korean Review by Call Number: DS 930 N67+Publication Date: lib. has vol. 3, 2007 -- current. Also online.Current issues in Kroch Library Reading Room, East Asia periodicals
Understanding North Korea
Chapters covering political system & governing principles; external policies & relations; military strategy & capacity; economic structure & policy; education & culture; society & life. Includes tables.
Call Number: + DS 935.774 K6 (Library has 2012 to current)Publication Date: 2014 (Seoul: Institute for Unification Education, Ministry of Education)
- The DiplomatMonthly magazine on current political issues, 2014-current. Some issues have cover stories on North Korea; other issues may have articles on the DPRK. Tabs for geographic regions and for topics.
International Journal of Korean Studies by Call Number: DS 901 I53 (In Kroch Library stacks. Online also; click on title.)Publication Date: lib. has vol. 5, 2001 to current.Includes articles on North Korea.
International Journal of Korean Unification Studies by Call Number: DS 917.44 K67Publication Date: lib. has vol. 7, 1998 to current. Also online 1992 (vol.1) to current.
Journal of Peace and Unification by Call Number: DS 917.44 J58Publication Date: Lib. has vol. 2 #2 (2012) to current
Korean Journal of Defense Analysis by Call Number: UA853 K6 K84+Publication Date: Lib. has vol 1 no. 2, 1989 to current(Online version only allows viewing older issues.)
S/N Korean Humanities by Call Number: DS 917.44 S665Contains articles "promoting North and South Korean studies." Library has vol.1-4, 2015-2018.
- DPRK Journals(38 North web site, Resources tab). List and detailed descriptions of journals in Sciences & Tech (including medicine), and economics.
Non-Current Periodicals
- Ch'ollima byCall Number: DS 930 C46+Publication Date: lib. has 1992-1994, 2003-2009In Korean. Located in Kroch Library stacks Level 1.
Democratic People's Republic of Korea by Call Number: DS 930 K831+Publication Date: lib. has 1961; 1964-1979.Illustrated monthly. Located in Library Annex.
Korea Today by Call Number: DS 930 K84+Publication Date: lib.has 1958, 1959, 1961, 1965, 1967, 1968-1993 (for some years, single issues only).Located in Library Annex.- North Korea Quarterly byCall Number: DS 930 N86Publication Date: lib. has 1974-1996Located in Kroch Asia stacks, level B.
- South-North Dialogue in Korea byCall Number: DS 922 S72Publication Date: lib. has 1979-2004Located in Kroch Library stacks level B.
Vantage Point: Developments in North Korea by Call Number: DS 930 V28Publication Date: Vo.l 1, 1978 -- vol.39 #1, 2016.- Women of Korea byCall Number: HQ 1765.6 A2 W87+Publication Date: lib. has 1965-1977In English. Illustrated (many in color) articles. Located in Kroch Library stacks level 1.
- 今日朝鮮 / Jin ri Chaoxian byCall Number: DS 901 H87+Publication Date: library has 1975-1987In Chinese. Located in Library Annex. This title continues 新朝鮮 Xin Chaoxian,1958-1974, also in Annex, same call number.
Keys : Friend of North Korean People by Call Number: DS 935.5 K497Publication Date: Cornell has vol. 2-22, 2000-2005/6; publication ceased after 2005.This was a NKNet bulletin. Web site for the organization has links to issues of another online magazine, NK Visions, #15 (2009) to 2013 (most current?)- 근로자 / KŭllojaCall Number: HD 8730.6 K84+Publication Date: P'yŏngyang-si : KŭllojasaLibrary has 1962 no.194 to 1963 no.238. (Check Worldcat for libraries with other holdings)
Finding Articles
- KISS(Korean studies Information Service System) Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles covering all subject areas.
- DBpiaFull text database including over 3,000 Korean scholarly journals, arranged by 8 subject categories, and almost 3 million "academic papers." All journals are available from the first issue of a given title. Also included are e-books, reference works, dissertations.
- Bibliography of Asian Studiescontains over 750,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc
- Articles & Full TextChoose Articles & Full Text search on Library Catalog home page. Search results can be limited by using format, content, subject, time span or language options on the left.
- Scopus"Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research."
- Google Scholar"peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."