Labor Union Statistics
- Annual Reports (National Labor Relations Board)Find summary statistics on NLRB activity, including decisions, court reviews, elections, unfair labor practices, etc.. (from 1936-2009)
- ILO Statistical Data, Union(Information about database. Database must be requested.) The ILO has created a database on trade union membership. It contains data for 45 countries from 1990-Available in Excel files on request from the ILO Bureau of Statistics.
- NLRB Election DataRecent election results from the NLRB
- NLRB Election Reports (National Labor Relations Board)Find recent statistics on NLRB certification and decertification elections. Variables include geographic location, industry, bargaining unit size, as well as election results.
- Union Membership Annual (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)This January release is the main government source for statistics on U. S. labor union membership and density.
- UnionReports.gov (U.S. Office of Labor Management Standards)Source for information on membership and finances of individual unions. From the U. S. Department of Labor.
- Unionstats.comThe Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. These statistics are provided by the BLS in its annual Union Membership survey, but due with less detail. Be sure to read the background information on Unionstats.com with its commentary on the accuracy of the sample.
Strikes and Work Stoppages Data
- Work Stoppages (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)The Work Stoppages page provides information about U. S. strikes and other work stoppages that affect over 1000 workers. Company names, industries, and summary data are provided. For work stoppages involving fewer than 1000 workers, see the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Services' Work Stoppages (Continuing and Ending)
- Cornell ILR Labor Action TrackerThe goal of the project is to provide a comprehensive database of strike and labor protest activity across the United States in order to better inform and support labor movement activists, policymakers, and scholars. Actions can be filtered by worker demands, industry, participant numbers, duration, state and other variables.
- FMCS Work Stoppage Data on GitHubDataset created from the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service's records on work stoppages from 1984-2020. This dataset also helpfully shows stoppages including fewer than 1000 workers.