OPEIU - How to do research: Industry and Economic Research

The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the enforcement of trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced Nakes) was developed as the standard for use by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, analysis, and publication of statistical data related to the business economy of the U.S. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. I

The Industry Studies Working Paper Series brings together research from a wide range of academic disciplines. Papers published to the series reflect the knowledge of scholars who have made significant personal investments of time in learning about the market and firm institutions concerning the industries that they study.

ILR Reference HA 40 I6 U63
Springfield, Va.: Office of Management and Budget. NTIS, 1987.
Provides standardized reference numbers used by the Census Bureau and the federal government to classify and report on businesses by type of 1987 activity.

Created by BLS field economists, this classification manual is currently being used by the National Compensation Survey, a Bureau of Labor Statistics program. It is a modification of the Census's Classified Index of Industries and Occupations.

ILR Reference HB 2595 U54 2000
The SOC covers all jobs in the national economy, including occupations in the public, private, and military sectors. It is used by the Occupational Employment Statistics program of the Bureau of Labor Statistics It replaces the Bureau of the Census' 1990 occupational classification system and was used for the 2000 Census. In addition, the SOC serves as the framework for information being gathered through the Department of Labor'

Statistics from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, by industry.

We recommend the JGSM Library's guides that point to the best library materials for in-depth industry research.

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Current and previous years are provided.

Use the National Employment Matrix to project employment needs by industry and occupation.

Find stats on industrial production, consumer credit, exchange rate, international activities from the FED.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, JOLTS collects data on Total Employment, Job Openings, Hires, Quits, Layoffs & Discharges, and Other Separations.

OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to: Support sustainable economic growth; Boost employment; Raise living standards; Maintain financial stability; Assist other countries' economic development; Contribute to growth in world trade

See all the surveys and programs conducted by the U. S. Census Bureau that pertain to industries, companies, and business.

A monthly BLS release detailing the latest employment, payroll, and unemployment figures.

Over 100 industry pages are available. These pages display a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. The data shown are based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) supersector, sector, and industry level.

Business and economy data available from the U.S. Census organized by survey title or topic.

Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. As part of the Census Bureau’s mission to provide timely information on the health of the U.S. economy, this “business” census serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity. Nearly 4 million businesses, large, medium and small, covering most industries and all geographic areas of the United States will receive surveys tailored to their primary business activity.

Annual series providing economic profile of counties, states, and the United States. Data include employment, payroll, and number of establishments by industry.

The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.

The ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.

Statistics from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, by industry.

Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.

Starting place for U. S. statistics on employment by industry.

Business and economy data available from the U.S. Census organized by survey title or topic.