What's the company's record on sustainability?
Apart from searching news sources for information on a company, also check out these two databases that are specifically made for investors interested in a company's record on sustainablity.
- MSCI ESG DirectA comprehensive research database, measuring the environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance of corporations. The web-based database contains ESG and controversial business involvement research on more than 4,000 companies in 50+ global markets. The database provides over 200 ESG indicators and over 2,000 ESG points. It provides continuous global coverage for involvement in controversial lines of business, such as nuclear power, tobacco, and weapons. Previously known as ESG Manager on Campus.
- CorporateRegister.comCorporateRegister.com is a global directory of CSR (corporate social responsibility) resources, currently incorporating: CSR Report Directory, the world's largest online directory of company issued CSR, sustainability, and environment reports from around the world. ReportingPartners Directory - A free directory covering thousands of CSR reporting service providers (e.g. consultants, designers, printers and verifiers). This service is designed to assist report developers in finding companies to work on their next CSR report. CSR News & Information - provides users with constantly updated, relevant information in a single location. Research & Publications - additional information from the CSR reports.
Finding SGE Jobs & Companies
Sustainability in the workplace is more of a way of doing a job rather than a specific job focus. As the UN report, Green Jobs, states "many existing jobs ... will simply be transformed and redefined as day-to-day skill sets, work methods, as profiles are greened." Still, there are some websites that list positions for jobs with a sustainability focus. Below is a list of some of the more common job resources.
Sustainability-Related Job Boards
- BWork: The place to find jobs at companies that care about the planet, people, as well as profit.
- BSR Sustainability Careers: Find sustainability job postings at BSR and its member companies.
- Diversified Search Group: Non-profit job postings
- DevEx: Connects and informs development, health, humanitarian, and sustainability professionals through news, business intelligence, and funding & career opportunities in international development
- Exec-Appointments.com: Site based in the UK (Financial Times) with international listings for environmental positions
- GIIN: Global Impact Investing Network
- Good Food Jobs: A gastro-job search tool, designed to link people looking for meaningful food work with the businesses that need their energy, enthusiasm, and intellect
- Green Careers: Greenbiz.com's listings of various environmental jobs. Positions range from accountants for renewable energy firms to solar panel installers to marketing executives
- Green Dream Jobs: SustainableBusiness.com's listings of positions; primarily environmentally geared
- Idealist.org: Connects millions of idealists – people who want to do good – with opportunities for action and collaboration all over the world
- Josh's Water Jobs: Connects the diverse talent in the global water community with the wealth of career opportunities worldwide
- 3BL Media: The leading community for CSR and sustainability news and content
- Net Impact: Emphasis on using business skills in support of various social and environmental causes
- Next Billion: A community of business leaders, social entrepreneurs, NGO managers, policy makers, academics and others exploring the connection between development and enterprise
- Non-Profitjobs.org: Connecting mission-driven talent with organizations important to our civic infrastructure
- Solar Energy Industries Association: SEIA coordinates with training providers and certification organizations to provide information on how to start a solar career
- Sustainable Food Jobs: Provides job opportunities available in the domestic sustainable food and agriculture sector.
Associations
Associations are great places to get contact information for networking. Here are a few examples to get you started. You can either use Associations Unlimited or Google an industry + "associations" to search for more examples.
Sustainability-Related Job Boards
Development - Business opportunities in low-income markets
- National Association of Development Organizations
- National Association of Community Economic Development Associations
Impact Investing - Investing for financial return, social impact, and environmental impact.
Renewable Energy - Naturally Replenished: Solar, wind, biofuel, geothermal, tidal
Non-Profit - Surplus funds are used to support organization goals, not distributed to owners or shareholders
Clean Tech - Renewable energy, recycling, green transportation, etc.
Corporate Social Responsibility - Business Compliance to laws and ethical standards
Food/Agriculture - Bringing sustainable practices to the food industry