Essential Resources
- AncestryAvailable through Cornell or a local public library or personal subscription Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers. More detail about the differences
- FamilySearch Research WikiEasy to navigate useful starting point for genealogy research.
- Cyndi's ListThe largest collection of genealogical lists on the Web today. A good starting point for problems and challenges.
- PERSI: Periodical Source IndexNow free. Invaluable resource for discovering articles in periodicals about local history and genealogy. Search by surname, but also consider searching on towns, events, churches, cemeteries, disasters, and local records. Produced by staff of the Allen County Public Library. Strongest on North America and United Kingdom, but global in scope. Use the "order copies" option to request PDFs of material for a reasonable fee from the Allen County Public Library, or get them through Interlibrary Loan at your own local public library.
- America: History & LifeAvailable through Cornell or a local public library or personal subscription Covers the history of North America from 1450 C.E. to the present. Includes JStor journals. Strong on local history.
- Heritage QuestAvailable through Cornell or a local public library Includes Revolutionary War records, and Freedmen's Bank Records (Guide).
- FamilySearch (LDS)Information is volunteer-sourced and of uneven quality. .
Recommended: International Genealogical Index(IGI) index of birth and marriage registers from all over the world submitted by volunteers who transcribed information from the microfilms of original records collected by the FHS; Family History Library an online catalog. Microfilm can be borrowed through a local Family History Center. - The USGenWeb ProjectRun by volunteers. Organized by county and state. Provides gateways to and email discussion lists for counties.
- GenForumFind others working on your family to exchange information.
- Find a Grave.com60 million records. Includes forums for discussion.
Historical Geospatial Research
Land Ownership Maps
These maps of counties and towns from the mid-nineteenth to early twentieth-century show who actually owned property. Now available online through Ancestry.
- Sanborn Map CollectionAvailable through Cornell or a local public library
A collection of historic fire insurance maps. Detailed maps of thousands of localities in the US over successive years. - Cornell Library Map CollectionLocated in the lower level of Olin Library. About 250,000 maps, many historic. Website includes many freely available online mapping tools and sources.
Deeds, Patents, and Land Records
- Deeds, Patents, and Land RecordsUseful explanation. To locate persons who homesteaded or took out land patents:
BLM Search.
Selected Sources relating to Ethnicity
- Multicultural America Overview of the history of ethnic groups in the United States.
- Jewish and/or East EuropeanJewishGen is outstanding not just for Jewish genealogy but also East European genealogy. Watch for various tutorials on ethnic genealogy offered by the major sites.
- Greek AncestryExcellent site for all things relating to genealogy in the Greek-speaking world.
- AfriGeneasExcellent community with recommended resources.
- IrelandGENUKI is one of the best umbrella sites for Ireland and, in fact, all of the British Isles.
Selected Immigration Sites
- Ellis Island Records (1892-1924)There's no cost. Registration allows you to view complete records.
- Records from Castle Garden (1830-1892)Castle Garden was the precursor to Ellis Island. Over 73 million Americans can trace their ancestors to this early immigration period.
- Finding Passenger Lists & Immigration Records 1820-1940s (arrivals at US ports from Europe)Clear, readable and understandable.
- National Archives--Immigration Records: Passengers arrivals & Border crossingsIncludes some online indexes.
- AncestryAvailable through Cornell or a local public library
Contains lots of passenger lists and immigration records.
Genealogy Societies
Associations & Societies: Regional and Ethnicity
Almost every country, region, state/province, county/city anywhere in the world has a genealogical organization. Through an association or society, you might find resources and information about resources based on a locality, local history/genealogy projects and databases, professional certified genealogists for hire who can do research in local archives and libraries, transcribe and translate, obtain copies of archival documents, and more.
Ethnicities have associations and societies as well and can offer training, resources, as well as access to professional certified genealogists for hire.
Examples:
- National Genealogical SocietyOne of several national societies in the United States.
- New York Genealogical and Biographical SocietyThe New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, popularly known as the "G & B," was founded in 1869. As a non-profit educational institution, its purpose is to collect and make available information on genealogy, biography and history, particularly as it relates to the people of New York State.
- New England Historical and Genealogical SocietyExtraordinary collection from which they will lend to members. In fact, membership is required for almost all access.
- Polilsh Genealogical Society of America (PGSA)The Society is open to anyone doing research within the borders of the old Commonwealth of Poland. It attempts to assist members in doing their own genealogical research by publishing the journal Rodziny and providing books, newsletters, bulletins, printed information, regular Society meetings, conferences and workshops. With members across the United States, plus countries around the world, the Society has access to a wide range of ideas, data, experts and resources to benefit its members. Furthermore, modern communication technology enables members in almost any location live access to most meetings and programs via the internet.
- Afro-American Historical & Genealogy Association (AAGHS)Dedicated to the study and research of African American history and genealogy, and promotes the documentation of African Americans in American history. Organized into regional chapters with an annual national conference.
- JewishGen: The Home of Jewish GenealogyJewishGen serves as the global home for Jewish genealogy. Featuring unparalleled access to millions of records, it offers unique search tools, along with opportunities for researchers to connect with others who share similar interests.