General & Aggregated News Databases

Council on Foreign Relations - publicationsCouncil on Foreign Relations - publications and other free resources on the Middle East and North Africa.

"The CFR Campus LibGuide highlights a selection of free educational resources about U.S. foreign policy and international affairs from the Council on Foreign Relations. You can link to this LibGuide from your website or copy it to create or supplement your own LibGuides."

 

  • The Arab League  This Backgrounder explains the history and the role of the Arab League, a loose confederation of 22 Arab nations.
  • Crisis Guide: Pakistan This interactive presentation traces Pakistan's evolution and the competing internal and external influences that have contributed to regular upheaval and stunted political and economic development.
  • The Islamic State (ISIS) With Iraq weakened and a civil war raging in Syria, it’s unclear whether local forces and a U.S.-led international coalition can roll back the self-proclaimed Islamic State, explains this Backgrounder.
  • The Sunni-Shia Divide  This InfoGuide explains the religious root of tensions in the region that hinder unity in Arab countries.
  • Syrian Civil War Five Years On Protests in Syria have descended into a civil war, giving rise to Islamic State militants and an outpouring of refugees and defying attempts at resolution.
  • The Time of the Kurds The Kurds are one of the world's largest peoples without a state. Their history is marked by marginalization and persecution.
  • U.S.-Saudi Relations The U.S.-Saudi relationship, long bound by common interests in oil and security, is showing strains over what some analysts see as waning U.S. involvement in the Middle East and a more assertive Saudi foreign policy.
  • Yemen in Crisis Yemen’s mounting internal divisions and a Saudi military intervention have spawned an escalating political, military, and humanitarian crisis. The upheaval has intensified already high tensions in the Middle East. 

  • Milestones : Commentary on the Islamic World  Offers commentary on theology, ethics, and contemporary politics that influence and affect the Islamic world. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, documents, podcasts, photo essays, and other materials that are not available in conventional secular media. As a site, Milestones performs two main functions: 1) Providing a meaningful infrastructure for an ongoing discourse of Islam, 2) Facilitating a platform for the deconstruction of Western hegemonic systems of analyses, epistemologies, political cultures, and moral sensibilities.    

  • MEMRI They translate videos, tv clips, that kind of thing. The translations themselves are generally linguistically sound, but  they are essentially a propaganda site: They highlight videos that support their agenda -- depicting Muslims as extremists -- and they cherry-pick their content/interpretation so as to ensure that users don't receive a balanced picture. Useful site for language practice as they provide subtitles for various Arabic dialects, but always be cognizant of MEMRI's ideological leanings and to not take all of their translations literally. MEMRI is a 501(c)3 organization and it certainly isn't illegal to support them, and there is some value in providing access to fringe thought if it's placed in the correct context.

  • Informed Comment-Thoughts on the Middle East, History and ReligionJuan Cole is Richard P. Mitchell Collegiate Professor of History at the University of Michigan. For three decades, he has sought to put the relationship of the West and the Muslim world in historical context.

 

News Sources by Country

ALGERIA

ذو الفقار = Dhulfiqār = Dou-el-Fakar = Dhū al-faqār Published: Alger, Algeria : A. Assanhadji, [1913-1914] Language: Arabic Frequency: Weekly
Published irregularly Issues available: 1913.10.05 - 1914.01.04

الفاروق = al-Farūq = El Farouk Published: Algiers, Algeria Frequency: Weekly Issues available: 1913.02.28 - 1921.03.25

التقدم = al-Taqāddum = Attakaddoum = Le Progrès Published: Algiers Language : French, Arabic Frequency : Semimonthly Issues available  : 1923.05.25 - 1931.09.15

EGYPT

Al-Ahram digital archive  [1880-2014] Founded in 1876, Al-Ahram ("The Pyramids") is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt's most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.       

al-Ahrām=الاهرام Published:  al-Qāhirah : al-Ahrām. Frequency:   Daily. Print began in 1876. Digital issues available: May-Dec 1890; 1892; 1895; July 1896-Jun 1900; Jan 1907-Dec 1908; Jan 1912-Dec 1913; 1943-1945; Oct-Dec 1970; scattered issues wanting. Access to content published after 1923 is restricted. [Made available by the Center for Research Libraries].

‎‫‏الاهرام العربى‏‬‎ / al-Ahrām al-ʻArabī = Al Ahram al Arabi 1997-  Ahrām al-ʻArabī (Online)   Journal/Periodical ‎‫‏[Cairo, Egypt] : موسسة الاهرام، 1997-‏‬‎ [Cairo, Egypt] : Muʾassasat al-Ahrām, 1997- Arabic.

Egyptian Press Archive of CEDEJ  Presented online by the Bibliotheca Alexandrina .   "The CEDEJ and the Bibliotheca Alexandrina are pleased to present, through the digitization of more than 800,000 articles in Arabic, English and French, 40 years of Egyptian political, cultural and economic life - from the mid-1970s until 2010... Since the year 1976, the CEDEJ formed a documentary collection of 800,000 articles from the principal organs of the Egyptian press and classified according to 15 thematic areas, which are divided into themes and sub-themes. The CEDEJ catalogued and indexed the archives, preparing the material for online dissemination. The BA, as a leader in the digitization of Arabic text, designed and implemented a proficient workflow for digitizing this valuable collection using state-of-the-art technology, while applying digitization best practices in the production of a user friendly website encompassing the whole collection. Moreover, the BA has implemented convenient browsing facilities and search functionalities to allow easy access to the material available.  This work was carried out from 24 Egyptian and Arabic newspapers - daily and weekly - including 13 print and 11 digital media. Through these scanned articles, we can follow the evolution of swathes of contemporary Egyptian society'"

IRAN

Parkhāsh. Parkhāsh. Presented here as part of the ‘revolution’ series, this periodical was published in Isfahan and Tehran by Ahmad Anvari, a noted supporter of Prime Minister Mohammad Mossadegh. It reflected views from across the political spectrum of the National Front, the broad umbrella organisation which gathered several political groups and individual supporters of Mossadegh. Parkhash’s first series ended with the coup d’état against Mossadegh in August 1953.  The run presented here was published in the spring and summer of 1979 by Anvari who kept the periodical’s logo from the first series. This run provides an insight into the stance of the National Front vis-à-vis the emerging Islamic Republic as well as reflections on seminal events of the Mossadegh premiership, including the July 1952 uprising and the coup d’état. Parkhāsh was banned in August 1979 after publishing a commemorative issue on the August 1953 coup.

IRAQ

Baghdad News  Published: Baghdad, Iraq , Asia Printing and Publishing Company, Language : English Frequency: Daily (except Saturday)
Issues available  : 1964.07.14 - 1967.12.03

Baghdad Times Published: Baghdad, Iraq Language : English Frequency: Daily Issues available  : 1918.01.01 - 1923.02.26

The Iraq Times Published: Baghdad : Times Press Ltd., -1964 Frequency: Daily Language: In English and Arabic Issues available: 1948.01.02 - 1964.05.31

Times of Mesopotamia "Incorporating the Baṣrah times & ... the Times of Iraq." Published: Baṣrah : Times Press, Began in 1921; ceased Feb. 28, 1933. Language : In English and Arabic Issues available: 1921.07.11 - 1924.11.28

LEBANON

al-Akhbār = الأخبار Published : Lebanon Issues available  : 1958.12.16 - 1972.12.02

MOROCCO

Tangier Gazette: Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa & Morocco Published : Tangier, Morocco Language: English Issues available: 1927.01.29 - 1933.12.29

Tangier Gazette and Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa  Published : Tangier, Morocco Language : English, French Issues available: 1949.05.27 -1950.12.29

Tangier Gazette and Morocco Mail Published : Tangier, Morocco Language : EnglishIssues available: 1934.01.05 -1940.05.28

TURKEY

 
 
 

  Ankara University Newspaper collection  

 1. Akşam 2. Cumhuriyet ( SBF Koleksiyonundan ) 3. Gaye-i Milliye 4. Hakimiyet-i Milliye(Milli Kütüphane Koleksiyonundan) 5. İkdam Gazetesi (SBF Koleksiyonundan) 6. Peyam Gazetesi (SBF Koleksiyonundan) 7. Servet Gazetesi (SBF Koleksiyonundan) 8. Servet-i Fünun(Milli Kütüphane Koleksiyonundan) 9. Takvim-i Vekayi(Milli Kütüphane Koleksiyonundan) 10. Tanin Gazetesi (SBF Koleksiyonundan) 11. Tarik Gazetesi (SBF Koleksiyonundan) 12. Tercüman-ı Hakikat(Milli Kütüphane Koleksiyonundan) 13. Ulus Gazetesi ( SBF Koleksiyonundan ) 14. Vatan Gazetesi ( SBF Koleksiyonundan )  15. Yeni İstanbul ( SBF Koleksiyonundan ) 16. Yeni Sabah 17. Zafer  18. Zaman

Select Historical Newspapers * The Americas

البيان = al-Bayān = The explanation. Published :  Niyūyūrk : Sulaymān Baddūr, 1911- Frequency    Three times a week.  Note: Each issue includes an index.  Digital issues available : Jan 24, 1911-Jan 22 1916; Jan 25, 1917-Jul 31, 1926; Jan 25-Dec 31, 1938. [Made available by the Center for Research Libraries]

Fatat Boston.  Place of publication: Boston  Published by : W.E. Shakir Dates of publication: 1914-1922  Frequency: Weekly. Language:. Arabic. Notes: "Syrian semi-weekly newspaper."  Digital issues available: Dec 28, 1917-May 8, 1919

al-Hudá  [1903-1904; Jan-Jun 1908] Other titles: Hoda = Guidance =  Jarīdat al-Hudá = Hudá al-jadīdah = New Al-Hoda.
Published in: New York, N.Y. Began Feb. 22, 1898.

Issues for <Sept. 17, 1971-Feb. 22, 1972> have also romanized title:Al-Hoda.
Issues for <Feb. 22, 1972-> have also Arabic title: Jarīdat al-Hudá (al-jadīdah)
Issues for <Aug. 31, 1984-Sept. 14, 1984> have also Arabic title: Hudá al-jadīdah.
Issues for <Aug. 31, 1984-Sept. 14, 1984> have also title: New Al-Hoda.
[Made available by the Center for Research Libraries]
See also: الهدى = al-Hoda = al-Hudá = Jarīdat al-Hudá [1898-1941] from Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies

Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا. The Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies at North Carolina State University has funded the digitization of rare items pertinent to its subject, including surviving issues of the first Arabic-language newspaper published in the U.S., Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا; the set begins with the first issue, dated April 15, 1892, and ends with the February 28, 1896 issue.

La Reforma and el Mundo Árabe (1930-2014)
Weekly social, cultural and literary newspaper of Arab community in Chile
Place of publication: Santiago, Chile
Published by :  Jorge Sabaj Zurob
Dates available: 1930-2014

The Syrian world :  a monthly magazine in English dealing with Syrian affairs and Arabic literature. Published : New York : Syrian-American Pr., 1926-1935.  "Sample issues of The Syrian World are available, along with full indexes and tables of contents for The Syrian World between 1926 and 1932. To access the complete, fully-searchable archive of The Syrian World, please contact the Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies"

 

Spotlights * Interdisciplinary * General Interest Newspapers & Magazines

  • Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content.
  • The Destruction of Cultural Heritage: From Napoléon to ISIS 
  • http://www.euro-islam.info/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Logoa-300x46.gifEuro-Islam.info is an active network of researchers and scholars who conduct comparative research on Islam and Muslims in Europe and the USA and disseminate key information to politicians, media, and the public. Sponsored by the Cadbury Centre at the University of Birmingham, the site is recognized in academic, political and media circles as the most reliable online reference for Islam in Europe.
  • جرائد Jarāʾid: A chronology of nineteenth-century periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900). [A Research Tool] Periodicals published in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language (like the usual pair of Arabic and Ottoman Turkish) or in Arabic written in a different script (like Judeo-Arabic) during the period from 1800 to 1900. “We chose to present the core data as a table containing information on titles, dates of first and last issue published, place(s) of publication, names of publishers and editors, language(s) of publication, and available collections. In addition, we provide various indexes of publishers and locations, as well as a bibliography of the most important secondary sources and available union catalogues. To search any part of the website, the browser's search function should be invoked (Ctrl-F for Windows, Cmd-F for Mac OSX). Please keep in mind that unicode symbols adhering to the IJMES transliteration must be used.”
  • Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا. The Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies at North Carolina State University has funded the digitization of rare items pertinent to its subject, including surviving issues of the first Arabic-language newspaper published in the U.S., Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا; the set begins with the first issue, dated April 15, 1892, and ends with the February 28, 1896 issue.

  • Milestones: Commentary on the Islamic World "Milestones offers commentary on theology, ethics, and contemporary politics that influence and affect the Islamic world. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, documents, podcasts, photo essays, and other materials that are not available in conventional secular media. As a site, Milestones performs two main functions: 1) Providing a meaningful infrastructure for an ongoing discourse of Islam, 2) Facilitating a platform for the deconstruction of Western hegemonic systems of analyses, epistemologies, political cultures, and moral sensibilities."

  • openDemocracy’s North Africa West Asia (NAWA)

  • La Reforma and el Mundo Árabe (1930-2014)
    Weekly social, cultural and literary newspaper of Arab community in Chile
    Place of publication: Santiago, Chile
    Published by :  Jorge Sabaj Zurob
    Dates available: 1930-2014
  • The Syrian world :  a monthly magazine in English dealing with Syrian affairs and Arabic literature. Published : New York : Syrian-American Pr., 1926-1935.  "Sample issues of The Syrian World are available, along with full indexes and tables of contents for The Syrian World between 1926 and 1932. To access the complete, fully-searchable archive of The Syrian World, please contact the Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies"
  • A Selection of News Articles on the Destruction of Cultural Heritage in the Middle East

  • Ta'seel Commons "Ta’seel Commons (Ta'seel meaning: “contextualization, to “give an asl (root) to”) is an online platform dedicated to the (re)invigoration of Islamic thought in a (post)modern world.  Ta’seel Commons  is an online space created for disseminating information on contemporary ‘Islams’ place in the modern world.  In creating this space, we seek to impact discourses on and about Islam in the West and in the East, cutting across national and sectarian lines."

  • World Politics Review Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Nonpartisan articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.

Historical Newspapers *

Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content.

Al-Ahram digital archive  [1880-2014] Founded in 1876, Al-Ahram ("The Pyramids") is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt's most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.       

al-Ahrām=الاهرام Published:  al-Qāhirah : al-Ahrām. Frequency:   Daily. Print began in 1876. Digital issues available: May-Dec 1890; 1892; 1895; July 1896-Jun 1900; Jan 1907-Dec 1908; Jan 1912-Dec 1913; 1943-1945; Oct-Dec 1970; scattered issues wanting. Access to content published after 1923 is restricted. [Made available by the Center for Research Libraries].

الاهرام العربى‏‬‎ / al-Ahrām al-ʻArabī = Al Ahram al Arabi 1997-  Ahrām al-ʻArabī (Online)  Journal/Periodical ‎‫‏[Cairo, Egypt] : موسسة الاهرام، 1997-‏‬‎ [Cairo, Egypt] : Muʾassasat al-Ahrām, 1997- Arabic.

 
al-Akhbār = الأخبار Published : Lebanon Issues available  : 1958.12.16 - 1972.12.02

جرائد Jarāʾid: A chronology of nineteenth-century periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900). [A Research Tool] Periodicals published in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language (like the usual pair of Arabic and Ottoman Turkish) or in Arabic written in a different script (like Judeo-Arabic) during the period from 1800 to 1900. “We chose to present the core data as a table containing information on titles, dates of first and last issue published, place(s) of publication, names of publishers and editors, language(s) of publication, and available collections. In addition, we provide various indexes of publishers and locations, as well as a bibliography of the most important secondary sources and available union catalogues. To search any part of the website, the browser's search function should be invoked (Ctrl-F for Windows, Cmd-F for Mac OSX). Please keep in mind that unicode symbols adhering to the IJMES transliteration must be used.”

Egyptian Press Archive of CEDEJ  Presented online by the Bibliotheca Alexandrina .   "The CEDEJ and the Bibliotheca Alexandrina are pleased to present, through the digitization of more than 800,000 articles in Arabic, English and French, 40 years of Egyptian political, cultural and economic life - from the mid-1970s until 2010... Since the year 1976, the CEDEJ formed a documentary collection of 800,000 articles from the principal organs of the Egyptian press and classified according to 15 thematic areas, which are divided into themes and sub-themes. The CEDEJ catalogued and indexed the archives, preparing the material for online dissemination. The BA, as a leader in the digitization of Arabic text, designed and implemented a proficient workflow for digitizing this valuable collection using state-of-the-art technology, while applying digitization best practices in the production of a user friendly website encompassing the whole collection. Moreover, the BA has implemented convenient browsing facilities and search functionalities to allow easy access to the material available.  This work was carried out from 24 Egyptian and Arabic newspapers - daily and weekly - including 13 print and 11 digital media. Through these scanned articles, we can follow the evolution of swathes of contemporary Egyptian society'"

ذو الفقار = Dhulfiqār = Dou-el-Fakar = Dhū al-faqār Published: Alger, Algeria : A. Assanhadji, [1913-1914] Language: Arabic Frequency: Weekly
Published irregularly Issues available: 1913.10.05 - 1914.01.04

الفاروق = al-Farūq = El Farouk Published: Algiers, Algeria Frequency: Weekly Issues available: 1913.02.28 - 1921.03.25

التقدم = al-Taqāddum = Attakaddoum = Le Progrès Published: Algiers Language : French, Arabic Frequency : Semimonthly Issues available  : 1923.05.25 - 1931.09.15

البيان = al-Bayān = The explanation. Published :  Niyūyūrk : Sulaymān Baddūr, 1911- Frequency    Three times a week.  Note: Each issue includes an index.  Digital issues available : Jan 24, 1911-Jan 22 1916; Jan 25, 1917-Jul 31, 1926; Jan 25-Dec 31, 1938. [Made available by the Center for Research Libraries]

Fatat Boston.  Place of publication: Boston  Published by : W.E. Shakir Dates of publication: 1914-1922  Frequency: Weekly. Language:. Arabic. Notes: "Syrian semi-weekly newspaper."  Digital issues available: Dec 28, 1917-May 8, 1919

Baghdad News  Published: Baghdad, Iraq , Asia Printing and Publishing Company, Language : English Frequency: Daily (except Saturday)
Issues available  : 1964.07.14 - 1967.12.03

Baghdad Times Published: Baghdad, Iraq Language : English Frequency: Daily Issues available  : 1918.01.01 - 1923.02.26

The Iraq Times Published: Baghdad : Times Press Ltd., -1964 Frequency: Daily Language: In English and Arabic Issues available: 1948.01.02 - 1964.05.31

Times of Mesopotamia "Incorporating the Baṣrah times & ... the Times of Iraq." Published: Baṣrah : Times Press, Began in 1921; ceased Feb. 28, 1933. Language : In English and Arabic Issues available: 1921.07.11 - 1924.11.28

Parkhāsh. Parkhāsh. Presented here as part of the ‘revolution’ series, this periodical was published in Isfahan and Tehran by Ahmad Anvari, a noted supporter of Prime Minister Mohammad Mossadegh. It reflected views from across the political spectrum of the National Front, the broad umbrella organisation which gathered several political groups and individual supporters of Mossadegh. Parkhash’s first series ended with the coup d’état against Mossadegh in August 1953.  The run presented here was published in the spring and summer of 1979 by Anvari who kept the periodical’s logo from the first series. This run provides an insight into the stance of the National Front vis-à-vis the emerging Islamic Republic as well as reflections on seminal events of the Mossadegh premiership, including the July 1952 uprising and the coup d’état. Parkhāsh was banned in August 1979 after publishing a commemorative issue on the August 1953 coup.

Al-Hoda, الهدى  الهدى = al-Hoda = al-Hudá = Jarīdat al-Hudá Publisher:     Philadelphia, Pa. : N.A. Mokarzel,  "Al-Hoda, or الهدى, [The Guidance] was the longest-lived of the early Arabic newspapers, published from 1898 until 1972. It was distinguished by its wide circulation--which ranged throughout North America but also stretched, by some claims, across 40 countries worldwide--and its corresponding transnational sphere of influence. Throughout its 74-year run it was owned and published by the Mokarzels, an influential family of Lebanese-Americans: it passed from the hands of its founder Naoum Antoun Mokarzal to his brother Salloum Antoun Mokarzel; upon Salloum’s death in 1952 it was published by Salloum’s daughter Mary Mokarzel. It served as an outlet for the Mokarzel brothers to shape both the Lebanese independence movement and to craft and transmit cultural and linguistic cohesion throughout the mahjar, or Arabic diaspora. In addition to its close association with Naoum and Salloum Mokarzel, it was a launching point and platform for the careers of many important writers; significantly, it published work by the women writers Marie T. Azeez and Afifa Karam. It also published numerous pieces from foreign correspondents throughout the Arab world. Though its format and content shifted throughout the decades, particularly as ownership changed hands between members of the Mokarzel family, Al-Hoda was consistent in its journalistic commitment to transnational issues and events and its  engagement with the Arabic-speaking diaspora."

Mir’āt al-gharb : jarīdah siyāsīyah adabīyah tijārīyah intiqādīyah ḥurrah  Publisher: New York [N.Y.] : Najīb Mūsá Diyāb, 1899-1961.
Available issues:  September 1910-April 20 1922 and August 12 1925-June 30 1927.  Other titles: مرآة الغرب = Meraat-ul-gharb = Mirror of the West.

"Mira’at al-Gharb, [Mirror of the West], was one of the longest-running Arabic newspapers in the United States, published from 1899 until 1961. It was founded by Najeeb Diab and owned by his family until its closure. In addition to its significant longevity, Mira’at al-Gharb is important for its affiliation with the Orthodox faith. As a counterpoint to the Maronite viewpoints that are often predominantly associated with the early Syrio-Lebanese immigrants, Mira’at al-Gharb provides valuable insight into the religious, political, and intellectual diversity of the early immigrants from Greater Syria..."

Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا. The Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies at North Carolina State University has funded the digitization of rare items pertinent to its subject, including surviving issues of the first Arabic-language newspaper published in the U.S., Kawkab Amirka كوكب أميركا; the set begins with the first issue, dated April 15, 1892, and ends with the February 28, 1896 issue.

La Reforma and el Mundo Árabe (1930-2014)
Weekly social, cultural and literary newspaper of Arab community in Chile
Place of publication: Santiago, Chile
Published by :  Jorge Sabaj Zurob
Dates available: 1930-2014

The Syrian world :  a monthly magazine in English dealing with Syrian affairs and Arabic literature. Published : New York : Syrian-American Pr., 1926-1935.  "Sample issues of The Syrian World are available, along with full indexes and tables of contents for The Syrian World between 1926 and 1932. To access the complete, fully-searchable archive of The Syrian World, please contact the Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies"

SALT Araştırma: Digitized French Press in the Ottoman Empire. "This project, a collaboration between İstanbul Atatürk Library, Bibliothèque Nationale de France and Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, aims to digitize newspapers and magazines published in French from the second half of the 19th century to the 1930s. More than a hundred titles, including periodicals printed in the Ottoman Empire as well as media published by the Young Turks of Europe, are now accessible. İstanbul Atatürk Library’s collection of Franco-Ottoman press has been digitalized by SALT Research, while the collection of Bibliothèque Nationale de France can be accessed through Gallica."

Select historical Turkish newspapers collection from Istanbul University Istanbul University recently began a historical newspaper project in which they digitized newspapers dating from 1928-1942 and made them freely accessible.

News Sources by Region

Foreign Newspapers Currently Received at the Library of Congress [Link to the newspaper collection *Alphabetical by country. The vast majority of current titles are microfilmed with only some exceptions.]

   Council on Foreign Relations - publications and other free Council on Foreign Relations - publications and other free resources on the Middle East and North Africa.

"The CFR Campus LibGuide highlights a selection of free educational resources about U.S. foreign policy and international affairs from the Council on Foreign Relations. You can link to this LibGuide from your website or copy it to create or supplement your own LibGuides."

  • World Politics Review Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Nonpartisan articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.
  • SALT Araştırma: Digitized French Press in the Ottoman Empire.
    "This project, a collaboration between İstanbul Atatürk Library, Bibliothèque Nationale de France and Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, aims to digitize newspapers and magazines published in French from the second half of the 19th century to the 1930s. More than a hundred titles, including periodicals printed in the Ottoman Empire as well as media published by the Young Turks of Europe, are now accessible. İstanbul Atatürk Library’s collection of Franco-Ottoman press has been digitalized by SALT Research, while the collection of Bibliothèque Nationale de France can be accessed through Gallica."