History, Culture, and Politics
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa byCall Number: Print version: Olin Reference DS43 .E53 2004 +ISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004-06-01Coverage from 1800 - present. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government. The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
- The World Almanac of Islamism : 2014 byISBN: 9781442231443The World Almanac of Islamism is the first comprehensive reference work to detail the current activities of radical Islamist movements worldwide. The contributions, written by subject experts, provide annual updates on the contemporary Islamist threat in all countries and regions where it exists.
- Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa byCall Number: Olin Library Reference HM626 .C843 2012 +ISBN: 9781412981767Publication Date: 2012-01-05Covers the history of countries and cultures within these important regions. Cultural topics are explored within historical context, in three broad historical periods: prehistory to 1250, 1250 to 1920 and 1920 to the present.
- Encyclopedia Iranica byCall Number: Print version: Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS253 .E56 +Focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. Work ongoing (1982 - )
- Encyclopedia Judaica byCall Number: Print version: Olin Reference DS102.8 E496 2007 +Publication Date: 2006Comprehensive work with more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 2nd ed. 22 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World byCall Number: Olin Library Reference BM150 .E53 2009 +ISBN: 9789004176782Publication Date: 2010-07-12The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture which until now has lacked its own cohesive/discreet reference work. The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. 4 volumes and one index and resources volume.
- Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict byCall Number: Olin Reference DS119.7.E5653 2008+ISBN: 1851098410Publication Date: 2008-05-12Covers the military, political, social, cultural, and religious origins of the Arab-Israeli conflict.
- The Contemporary Middle East: a documentary history byCall Number: Olin Library DS42 .F44 2008 +Publication Date: CQ Press, 2008A primary source collection of speeches, charters, agreements, UN resolutions, and other documents of the Middle East since World War 1.
Arabic Ontology الأنطولوجيا العربية
A new cross-search dictionary tool from Mustafa Jarrar of Birzeit University. "Linguistic Search Engine: The largest Arabic lexical database:Arabic Ontology + 150 Arabic dictionaries."
- The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: the United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq conflicts byCall Number: Olin Reference DS63.1 .E49 2010 +ISBN: 1851099476Publication Date: 2010-11-01Traces 20th-and 21st-century U.S. involvement in the Middle East and south-central Asia, concentrating on the last three decades. Beginning with the 1980 & 1988 Iran-Iraq War, it covers the 1979 & 1989 Soviet occupation of Afghanistan, the 1991 Persian Gulf War, allied punitive actions against Iraq during the 1990s, the Afghanistan War, the Iraq War, and the Global War on Terror. Many smaller military actions against Iran, Iraq, Libya, Afghanistan, and other regimes that have been involved in international terrorism are also included. Diplomacy, religion as it pertains to Middle East conflict, and social/cultural developments are other key subjects of analysis, as is the interplay of politics with military policy in the United States and other nations involved in the region.
- A Concordance of the Qur'an byCall Number: Olin Reference BP133 .K19ISBN: 0520043278Publication Date: 1983-12-28Uses transliterated Arabic terms. Arrangement is according to the Latin alphabet, but words are found under their Arabic roots. The index consists of English terms which refer to the Arabic roots and terms, hence usable even for non-Arabic speakers. ONLINE in Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
- Christian-Muslim RelationsChristian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online is a general online history of relations between the faiths. It covers the period from 600 to 1500, when encounters took place through the extended Mediterranean basin and are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin and other languages.
- Encyclopaedia Islamica byThe Encyclopaedia Islamica is a projected 16-volume publication focused on Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. (New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. In 2008 it began with the A, with an expected completion in 2023.)
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Online byCall Number: Print version (2nd ed.): Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS37 .E56 1954 +ISBN: 9004127569Publication Date: 2002-06-27Comprehensive reference work in English on all aspects of Islam written by leading scholars. Includes new entries from the 3rd edition (Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE). Condensed version of this work is available: Islamic Desk Reference - Olin Library Oversize DS35.53 .I83x 1994 + (also online)
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World byCall Number: Print version: Olin Reference BP40 .E525x 2004 +ISBN: 0028656032Publication Date: 1905-06-01Contextualizes Islam’s role in the modern world. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
- Encyclopaedia of the QurʼānBrill's Encyclopaedia of the Quran (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Quran. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within quranic studies--Product contents.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online byA collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world. Includes The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and the new Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (Olin Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009). Plus, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an by A.J. Arberry and Abdel S. Haleem; Hanna Kassis' A Concordance of the Qur'an in English; What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam; primary source documents; Islamic date converter; timelines; maps and other images.
Conflict and conquest in the Islamic world : a historical encyclopedia, / Alexander Mikaberidze. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c. A Historical Encyclopedia provides hundreds of entries on wars, revolutions, sieges, institutions, leaders, armies, weapons, and other aspects of wars and military life, enabling readers to understand the complex role conflict has played in Islamic life throughout history and see how Islamic warfare has evolved over the centuries. This reference work covers not only the traditional Middle Eastern regions and countries but also provides relevant historical information regarding Islam in North Africa, Central Asia, Southeastern Asia, and Oceania.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion Islamic Studies
Language & Linguistics
- The Oxford Handbook of Arab Novelistic Traditions byISBN: 9780199349791Publication Date: 2017-09-01The Oxford Handbook of Arab Novelistic Traditions is the most comprehensive treatment of the subject to date. In scope, the book encompasses the genesis of the Arabic novel in the second half of the nineteenth century and its development to the present in every Arabic-speaking country and inArab immigrant destinations on six continents. Editor Wail S. Hassan and his contributors describe a novelistic phenomenon which has pre-modern roots, stretching centuries back within the Arabic cultural tradition, and branching outward geographically and linguistically to every Arab country and toArab writing in many languages around the world.The first of three innovative dimensions of this Handbook consists of examining the ways in which the Arabic novel emerged out of a syncretic merger between Arabic and European forms and techniques, rather than being a simple importation of the latter and rejection of the former, as early critics ofthe Arabic novel claimed. The second involves mapping the novel geographically as it took root in every Arab country, developing into often distinct though overlapping and interconnected local traditions. Finally, the Handbook concerns the multilingual character of the novel in the Arab world and byArab immigrants and their descendants around the world, both in Arabic and in at least a dozen other languages. The Oxford Handbook of Arab Novelistic Traditions reflects the current status of research in the broad field of Arab novelistic traditions and signal toward new directions ofinquiry.
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics Leiden : Brill / General Editors: Lutz Edzard and Rudolf de Jong
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics represents a unique collaboration of a few hundred scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage.
Science, Technology, and Medicine
History of Science and Medicine / Arcadian Library [https://www.arcadianlibraryonline.com/home?] "The Arcadian Library Online platform enables researchers to explore the riches of the Arcadian Library's collection. Images are displayed in high resolution, full color and include bindings, clasps and page edges. Choose between an English or Arabic interface and search in either language. Read expert commentary from The Arcadian Library providing context for the collection. The History of Science and Medicine collection, the first module of the library, showcases the contribution of early Arab and Persian scientists, doctors and thinkers; their translation, reception and influence in Europe and their lasting influence on the development of Western scientific and medical knowledge. It also brings together 19th and 20th century records of science, medicine and natural history from across the Eastern Mediterranean and Middle Eastern regions."
- Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures byCall Number: Olin Reference Q124.8 .E53 2008ISBN: 140204559XPublication Date: 2008-03-12Contains approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. Includes intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy as well as thoughtful philosophical articles on concepts and ideas related to the study of non-Western Science, such as rationality, objectivity, and method.