Subject encyclopedias may provide historical background, define terms and concepts, and provide clues about additional sources of information.
Skim through the descriptions and try a simple keyword search in some of the reference sources below.
- AccessScienceWritten for the non-scientist, informative entries on a wide variety of science topics.
- DSM-V: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental DisordersPart of Psychiatry Online, start with the most recent edition of the DSM and work your way back. When did the disorder first appear in the DSM? Has the description or classification changed over the years?
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesMaps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale.
- Encyclopedia of Behavioral MedicineThis title may be useful for those diseases or conditions that span medical and psychological aspects, or in which there may be some dispute about medical versus psychological causes. Search tip: Ignore the search box at the top of the screen. Instead, scroll down to Search within this Reference Work.
- Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics"This Encyclopedia presents a wide range of subjects. The reader will
recognize traditional ones such as abortion, genetic counseling, and transplantation medicine" (Preface), but it also includes entries on healthcare, healthcare policy, pandemics and much more.
- Encyclopedia of Global Health"The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive, one stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide." [excerpt from the summary]
- Encyclopedia of Infectious DiseasesThe Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases is organized into five parts:
The first part examines current threats such as AIDS, malaria, SARS, and influenza;
The second part addresses the evolution of pathogens and the relationship between human genetic diversity and the spread of infectious diseases;
The next two parts highlight the most promising uses of molecular identification, vector control, satellite detection, surveillance, modeling, and high-throughput technologies;
The final part explores specialized topics of current concern, including bioterrorism, world market and infectious diseases, and antibiotics for public health.
Each article is written by one or more leading experts in the field of infectious diseases.
- Encyclopedia of Medical ImmunologyThe first volume covers all autoimmune, tropical, and infectious diseases. It also places emphasis on genetics, physiology, metabolism, pathogenesis and applied microbiology. Subsequent volumes cover vaccines, immunodeficiency, allergic disease.
- Encyclopedia of Medical AnthropologyHealth and illness in the world's cultures.