Non-Cornell Research Resources
-
Art + Feminism's list of resourcesTraining materials, online research tools, & other related Wikipedia projects
Art and Feminism's List of Resources
- WomenArts and WomenArts Network Artist Directory
- List of Directories of Women Artists
- Support Women Artists Now Day
- Jstor (subscription required)
- Project MUSE (subscription required)
- The Feminist Art Project at Rutgers University
- Black Feminism
- Intersectionality
- Indigenous Feminism
- Ubu Web
- Digital Public Library of America
- Archives of American Art
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
- Archives on Women Artists
- CLARA database
- NMWA list of online resources
- National Women’s History Museum
- Women’s History Sourcebook
- MoMA Learning
- Women Artists in the MoMA Online Collection
- Tate Learning
- The Getty Online
- New Museum Digital Archive
- Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum and Brooklyn Museum Feminist Art Base
- National Women’s History Project
- Arts: Search
- Art and Feminism (book)
- The Reckoning: Women Artists of the New Millennium (book)
- After the Revolution: Women Who Transformed Contemporary Art (book)
- Canadian Art Database
- Sophia Smith Collection, Women’s History Archives at Smith College
- n.paradoxa: international feminist art journal
- Getty Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
- Contemporary Arab Women’s Art: Dialogues of the present, edited by Fran Lloyd (book)
- Women and Art in South Africa by Marion Arnold (book)
- Japanese Canadian Artists
- Asian American Women Artists Association
- Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
- Artists in Canada
Sales, pricing, and auction resources
- Artnet.com
-
Universes-in-universe.orgVisual arts from Africa, Asia, the Americas in the international art context
-
Artvalue.comPartially searchable without a subscription. Includes Mayer's Guide, a database of 150,000 artists and over 45,000 sales from 950 auction houses 1987 to the present.
-
Artron.netAn interactive online community devoted to Chinese works of art.
-
Artsy
Links to current high-profile live auctions and recent auctions
At Cornell
- Guide to Art History Resources for Cornell University
- Cornell Research Guide to Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Resources
- Cornell Research Guide to Biographical Resources
- Cornell Research Guide to Encyclopedias Online
- Other Cornell Research Guides
- Cornell Life Sciences Editathon
- Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Art eBooks
Art Databases
Find articles about art by using databases that index thousands of journals
Sources for researching African artists
Open online journals
- Gallery Magazine archive, Zimbabwe 1994-1999
- Artthrob, South Africa (online only visual arts and cultural criticism)
- Chimurenga Chronic, South Africa (Pan-African cultural criticism)
Artist residency and workshop programs
Commercial galleries
Exhibition histories at major African museums
- Zeitz MoCAA
- Wits Art Museum
- Johannesburg Art Gallery
- Iziko Museums of South Africa
- National Gallery of Zimbabwe
- Lechwe Trust, Zambia
Biennales, art fairs, and festivals
- 1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, UK
- Dak’Art, Senegal
- Marrakech Biennale, Morocco
- Bamako Encounters, Mali
- Lagos Photo, Nigeria
- National Arts Festival, South Africa
- Art Harare Contemporary Art Fair, Virtual
News Sources
Find news articles about recent art exhibitions and artists in online news sources, such as Access World News
-
Ethnic News WatchCoverage and format: 1959 to date in two files. In English and Spanish. Plain text with some PDFs. Publications by and for ethnic and minority groups.
-
GenderWatchA full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.