Print Resources
- Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa byCall Number: Africana Library Reference HQ1787 .S44 2005This vast dictionary launches the new series, Historical Dictionaries of Women in the World, and fills a huge gap in the literature, as there previously has not been any comprehensive reference work on African women. This dictionary includes over 660 entries on notable women in history, politics, religion, the arts, and other sectors; on events particularly associated with women; on women's organizations and publications; and on a range of topics that are important to women in general or that have a special importance for African women, including marriage, fertility, market women, goddesses, and much more.
- In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, and Books Concerning More Than 15,000 Black Individuals and Groups byCall Number: Africana Library Reference + Z1361.N39 S76 1980A guide to magazine articles, newspaper articles, and books concerning more than 15,000 black individuals and groups, their careers and contributions to society. Includes index to occupations.
- The Malcolm X Encyclopedia byCall Number: Africana Library Reference BP223.Z8 L57626x 2002This work explores Malcolm X, and the important events and people during his lifetime.
- Notable Black American Men byCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185.96 .N683 1999This volume provides biographies of 500 men who are living or dead and covers nearly three centuries. The earliest known birth date of the entrants is 1711, when poet and tract writer Jupiter Hammon was born, and most recent in 1975. when professional golfer was born.
- Notable Black American Women byCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185.96 .N89 1992Narrative biographical essays on 500 notable Black American women (approximately 425 contemporaries and about 75 "forerunners") in all fields of endeavor are accompanied by basic biographical data and a list of sources for further reading. About 175 entries contain photographs
- Notable Black American Scientists byCall Number: Africana Library Reference Q141 .N726x 1999Profiles approximately 250 black Americans who have made contributions to the sciences, including inventors, researchers, award winners, and educators.
- Political Leaders in Black Africa: A Biographical Dictionary of the Major Politicians Since Independence byCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT352.8 .W81Includes major Sub-Saharan politicians since colonial independence.
- Selected Black American, African and Caribbean Authors: A Bio-Bibliography byCall Number: Africana Library Reference + Z1361.N39 P13 1985632 non-literary writers are covered.
- Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers byCall Number: Africana Library Reference PR9205.A52 T97 1993Comprised of biographies of writers from 14 nations in Africa and Caribbean.
- Who's Who Among African Americans byCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185.96 .W62This book has short biographical entries of over 20,000 men and women who have made various contributions to today's society. (also in Olin Library)
- Who's Who in Colored America byCall Number: Library Annex Microfiche 6 no. 281-287
- Who's Who in South African Politics byCall Number: Library Annex DT1774 .W62Ongoing documentation of various individuals involved in current South African politics.
- World's Great Men of Color Edited with an Introduction, Commentary, and New Bibliographical Notes by John Henrik Clarke. byCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT18 .R72 1972This two volume set explodes the myth that blacks played minor roles in world history. J. A. Rogers documents famous people of African decent. Historical figures includes those found in ancient Egypt, Europe, to the Americas. Black personalities include Akhenaten, Aesop, Cleopatra, Alexandre Dumas, St. Benedict the Moor, Marcus Garvey, and Aleksander Pushkin.
