Online Databases (For Cornell Users Only)
- Oxford African American Studies CenterComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field, over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 150 maps, 150 charts and tables, and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; African American National Biography; Dictionary of African Biography; and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.
- American National BiographyBiographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
- Biography IndexIndexes biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews. Covers articles from 1984 to date.
- The HistoryMakersThe HistoryMakers collection in Black Studies Center is a primary source archive of filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans who have shaped modern history. The ProQuest resource includes a carefully curated collection of 100 persons interviewed by The HistoryMakers, with videos and complete transcripts. The people included represent a wide range of experiences, locations, occupations, and subjects. Each interview video and corresponding transcript has been subject-indexed and segmented by The HistoryMakers’ staff. The transcripts are fully searchable.
You can also search the Library of Congress site which has a wider selection people at: http://www.thehistorymakers.com
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- African American biographical databaseBiographical information on African Americans. Includes Chadwyck-Healey's microform collection: Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950, obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations; and the index to that collection, Black biography, 1790-1950. Biographical portraits from newly uncovered dictionaries as well as from other published reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, are added as the database expands.
