Print Resources
- Contemporary Black Biography byCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT18 .C76This reference series provides biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage. Whether they are personalities from the news, selected 20th-century notables, or individuals who are not yet household names, these are the men and women who are changing today's world and shaping the world of tomorrow.
- Dictionary of African Biography byCall Number: Africana Library Reference CT1920 .D52 2012Over 2,100 articles on Africans from prehistory to the present and from all regions and countries of Africa.
- Dictionary of African Historical Biography byCall Number: Olin Library Reference DT18 .L76 1986The acclaimed Dictionary of African Historical Biography, the only single-volume biographical work on Sub-Saharan African history, has been expanded and updated to include entries on over eight hundred people important in Sub-Saharan African history up to 1980.
- Dictionary of American Negro Biography byCall Number: Africana Library Reference + E185.96 .D55More than seven hundred entries spanning three centuries of American history recount the lives and accomplishments of Black Americans whose occupations range from explorers and sea captains to artists and scientists.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series: An Illustrated Chronicle byCall Number: Africana Library Reference PS129 .D552 v.8Each volume concentrates on the major figures of a particular literary period, movement or genre. Entries are generously illustrated with facsimiles of manuscripts and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. (Note: this series has been discontinued, however new Documentary volumes will be published periodically in the Dictionary of Literary Biography series.)
- The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: byCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185.96 .F2x 1997• volume 1 The Early Years, 1619-1899
• volume 2 Literature
• volume 3 Dance, Sports, Visual Arts
• volume 4 Business and Professions
• volume 5 Music
• volume 6 Education
• volume 7 Religion and Community
• volume 8 Law and Government
• volume 9 Theater, Arts, and Entertainment
• volume 10 Social Activism
• volume 11 Science, Health, and Medicine - Fifty Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook byCall Number: Africana Library Reference PR9205.A52 F46Even when available elsewhere, information on these 50 English-language authors is sparse; the in-depth treatment here includes biography, description of major works and themes, summary of critical reception, and an exhaustive bibliography of works by and about each author. Both academic and public libraries will want to accept this invitation to another world. Library Journal
- Fifty Black Women Who Changed America byCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185.96 .A48x 1999Black women have influenced some of the greatest social and cultural movements in the United States, from abolitionism to the struggle for women's suffrage, from jazz to the battle for civil rights.
