Biographical Resources: An African and African Diaspora Approach: Reference Books (A-B)

Biographical information on influential educators, politicians, lawyers, and physicians throughout Africa

Compiled from the author's African-American Almanac, 6th ed., entries are mostly brief biographical profiles of prominent Black Americans in history and in various fields, interspersed with entries for significant legislative and historical events and topical narratives.

This reference work brings the lives and work of African American architects to light for the first time. This book contains 160 biographical, A-Z entries on African American architects from the era of Emancipation to the end of World War II. Articles provide biographical facts about each architect, and commentary on his or her work.

Chronicling the autobiographical tradition in African American literature from the 18th century to the present, this volume features 66 authors from Maya Angelou to Malcolm X. Alphabetized entries, written by expert contributors, include concise biographies, overviews of autobiographical works and themes, reviews of critical receptions, and bibliographies.

Civil rights leaders, scientists, sports heroes, and government, business and military leaders: each person in this book has played a major role in 20th-century America.The one-page biographies provide detailed, career-oriented summaries. Criteria for inclusion include career accomplishments, being the first African American in the field or profession, individual awards (Hall of Fame, Olympic medal, etc.) and overall leadership. Includes occupational and geographical indexes.

This book contains authoritative biographies of some 600 African Americans.

The African American National Biography will present history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day.

Covering 46 poets from more than two centuries of African American literary history.

A reference source on some 270 black women who have made significant contributions to social reform, politics, arts and entertainment, religion, business, education, and the professions--from the colonial era to the present. The individual entries are written in essay form, providing concise information about each woman's childhood, education, career, and achievements.

This biographical resource provides 75 profiles of African leaders. Noteworthy writers, artists, politicians, religious leaders and many others are covered.

Statesmen throughout Africa are represented in this collection. Includes biographical and civic information.

Up-to-date and representative of African societies as a whole, An African Biographical Dictionary provides a wealth of vital information for students of African culture and is an indispensable reference guide for anyone interested in African affairs.

The mid-1950s brought changes not only to the political and social worlds of African-Americans in the United States, but to their literary world as well-changes reflected in and effected by writers profiled in this DLB volume.

35 entries include: Maya Angelou, Amiri Baraka, Alice Childress, Ossie Davis, Alex Haley, Lorraine Hansberry, Adrienne Kennedy, Ron Milner, Larry Neal and Samm-Art Williams.

The new African-American poets - more than 50 are profiled in this DLB volume-aroused feelings of nationalism in black people throughout the United States, encouraging viewpoints of black pride and 'Black is beautiful.' The entries include: Samuel W. Allen, Jayne Cortez, Margaret Esse Danner, Nikki Giovanni, Etheridge Knight, Haki R. Madhubuti, May Miller, Sonia Sanchez, Gil Scott-Heron and Tom Weatherly.

Among the African-American authors featured in this volume are James Madison Bell, Charles Chestnutt, Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, Alice Moore Dunbar Nelson and Harriet E. Adams Wilson.

34 entries include: Arna Bontemps, Countee Cullen, Jessie Redmon Fauset, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Georgia Douglas Johnson, ClaudeMcKay, George Samuel Schuyler, Jean Toomer and Walter Francis White.

Among the African-American writers featured in this volume are Gwendolyn Brooks, Ralph Ellison, Naomi Long Madgett, Ann Petry, Dorothy West and Richard Wright.

A Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt contains more than two hundred entries on important historical and cultural figures, as well as some less well known individuals in Egypt's long history (ca. 3100 b.c.-ca. A.D. 600). Not only are rulers and members of their families listed (Akhenaten, Nefertiti), but also other significant figures who had particularly impressive or interesting tombs (Cheops, Tutankhamun), who showed great military prowess (Sethos I, Ramesses II), or who had special literary or other skills (Ipuwer, Manetho). Also featured are foreigners with whom the Egyptians came into contact (Alexander the Great), and major classical writers (Herodotus) who have left vivid descriptions of ancient Egypt.

Well-known Latin Americanist Alexander and his colleagues (some with reputations equal to that of their editor) provide information about Latin American and Caribbean leaders over the past two centuries. Choice This is a compiliation of biographical sketches of the most important political figures in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each entry describes the subject's political significance as well as their career, family background, education, and relevant nonpolitical activities. Appendixes list the leaders according to country or territory, and provide a chronology of major events in the region from Haitian independence in 1804 to the present day. A general subject index completes the volume.

Annotated bibliography of autobiographies written by black Americans from the Civil War to 1973.

Indexes 297 reference books microfilmed in Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950. 1987. Microfiche 6. Volumes 1-2 arranges alphabetically 30,000 biographical sketches of historical figures. Volume 3 contains indexes by place of birth, occupation, religion, and sex.

"In recognition and celebration of African American achievement over the past 100 years, this landmark book details the lives of 150 individuals who have made a lasting and profound impact on our culture - from W. E. B. Du Bois to Colin Powell, and from Rosa Parks to Maya Angelou. Through each of their inspirational stories, distinguished author Jessie Carney Smith offers African Americans a compelling means to further explore their rich heritage and for all Americans to reflect upon a century of accomplishment."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Winner of the Dartmouth Medal for Outstanding Reference Publication of 1994, the first edition of Black Women in America broke ground - pulling together for the first time all of the research in this vast but underrepresented field to provide one of the strongest building blocks of Black Women's Studies.