Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Hospitality Industry Guides
Use the resources below to learn more about a company or create lists of companies meeting certain criteria. While all of these resources will cover US companies, read each individual discription to determine which resources cover public vs private US companies and international companies.
Business Source Complete
Provides full-text access to academic and trade publications, including more than 1,800 peer-reviewed journals. It also includes company and industry reports from Datamonitor. Select the Company Information tab at the top of the database to search for a company. Many of the Datamonitor reports will include financial information and a SWOT analysis.
MSCI ESG Direct
A comprehensive research database, measuring the environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance of corporations. Contains ESG and controversial business involvement research on more than 4,000 companies in 50+ global markets.
International market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Select Companies or Brands from the center Search tab and search for a company of interest. You will find market share by company by brand or product for many international companies in the hospitality and food industries.
Covers over 10,000 US public companies and includes their SEC filings with valuable financial information. Some international company coverage is also included. Access to current and historical annual reports for US and international public companies. Also provides peer group comparisons and "as-reported" financial statements.
Unlike public companies, private companies are not required to release financials. This can make search difficult. These sources are recommended for finding information on private firms:
Provides basic company information and news about private firms.
Business Source Complete
Provides access to business news publications. Article searching is an excellent way to gather information on private companies, for which there are not company reports.
CB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed start-up companies, VC firms, angel investors, and transactions in the United States. Users are required to create an account using their Cornell email address. Accounts are limited to 6,000 downloads per year.