Survey Tips
1. Research survey questionnaire development. Crafting your survey questions carefully to help you collect measurable data will save you and your client valuable time. Consider consulting with on-campus statistical and survey offices.
2. Decide on a survey application. There are hundreds of free, on line survey tools to choose from; make sure you pick one that will provide you with a data output mechanism that you can work with! Here are a few popular choices:
- Qualtrics available from CIT (RECOMMENDED)
- Survey Monkey
- Alchemer (formerly SurveyGizmo)
Survey Resources
Design, evaluation, and analysis of questionnaires for survey research by ISBN: 9781118634486Publication Date: 2014-01-09This 2nd edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires. Provides an explanation of the usage and limitations of Survey Quality Prediction (SQP) and includes a comprehensive outline of the steps for creating and testing survey questionnaires.
Focus Group Discussions by ISBN: 0199856168Publication Date: 2014-01-14This book provides detailed guidance on the practical and theoretical considerations in conducting focus group discussions including: designing the discussion guide, recruiting participants, and training a field team. The author describes how a methodology section is read and evaluated by others, such as journal reviewers or thesis advisors. She also provides readers with guidance on specific aspects of presenting research findings.
How to Conduct Surveys by ISBN: 9781452203874Publication Date: 2012-11-12Guides readers on how to developing their own surveys and to evaluate the credibility of other ones. Includes a section on the internal and external validity of research design and provides guidance in choosing survey types, question types, sampling strategies, research designs, and data analytic methods.
Sampling statistics by Publication Date: 2009
Questionnaire Design by ISBN: 9780749467807Publication Date: 2013-06-03This book explains the role of questionnaires in market research and looks at different types of questionnaires, examining when and how they should be deployed. It explains how to plan, structure and compose the right questionnaire for the research being undertaken.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by ISBN: 144628266XPublication Date: 2016-08-15The handbook takes a global approach and addresses local and national specificities, as well as problems of cross-national, comparative survey research.
Interview Steps
- How to Conduct Stakeholder InterviewsThis guide created by Kelee Pacion steps through the interview steps from pre-planning to post-interview.
Interview Resources
Doing Interviews by ISBN: 0761949771Publication Date: 2008-04-01Provides coverage of both the theoretical background and the practical aspects of the interview process, incorporating discussion of the wide variety of methods in interview based research and the different approaches to reading the data. Consideration is also given to the crucial issue of how to ensure scientific rigour.
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by ISBN: 9781412981644Publication Date: 2012-02-14The book begins with the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice.
Qualitative Interviewing by ISBN: 9781412978378Publication Date: 2011-10-11The authors describe in-depth qualitative interviewing from beginning to end, from its underlying philosophy and assumptions to project design, analysis and write up.
Doing Focus Groups by ISBN: 9781446205204Publication Date: 2008-01-01This book provides practical advice on planning and organizing successful groups. The authors discuss the advantages and limitations of using group discussion and demonstrate effective methods for collecting and analyzing data.
Focus Group Methodology by ISBN: 9781847879080Publication Date: 2011-03-28Focus Group Methodology is an introductory text which leads readers through the entire process of designing a focus group study, from conducting interviews and analyzing data to presenting the findings.
