Cornell University Library Website
The Cornell University Library page is an excellent place to start your search for information on a topic. Use the search box to find books, articles, databases, and more! To be more specific in your search, do a catalog search for books and reports and click on the database link to navigate to do a more comprehensive search for journal articles.
Resources for Finding Books and More
Search the Cornell Library Catalog
Find the locations and call numbers of millions of Cornell books (as well as lots of video, audio, microforms, maps, serials, and manuscripts).
Library of Congress Call Numbers
We use Library of Congress call numbers to shelve our books and bound periodicals. For a brief introduction, ask at reference for our Library of Congress Classification handout or see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
To find books outside Cornell, use BorrowDirect or OCLC WorldCat
BorrowDirect is the combined online catalogs of the eight Ivy libraries plus MIT, Chicago, Stanford, and Johns Hopkins. Bonus: you can order the book you want directly from BorrowDirect (provided it is not available to borrow at Cornell). Your book will be delivered to the library you choose at Cornell in four business days or less. Check at a reference desk for further information and assistance.
OCLC WorldCat is the combined online catalogs of tens of thousands of libraries around the world. You can request books in WorldCat that are not available through either Cornell or BorrowDirect by using our free interlibrary loan service.
Recommended Business Databases
You will find Business Databases on the Cornell Library's database page under the Social Sciences section.
- Foundation DirectoryThe Foundation Center directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. ABI/Inform covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.
- PitchBookPitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users must create an account using your Cornell email address. Log in > Log in with SSO > [Cornell email address].
