Skip to main content
Cornell University

Fake News, Propaganda, and Misinformation: Learning to Critically Evaluate Media Sources.

"Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not his own facts." --Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Newsweek, 25 August 1986, p. 27.

Did you know that...

New York Times/nytimes.com:
Cornell undergraduates can sign up for unlimited, free access to The New York Times online. Funded by the Student Assembly.
The Law Library funds unlimited, free access to nytimes.com for Law School students, faculty, and staff.

Financial Times/FT.com:
The Library funds free online access. Go to the-Financial Times catalog record and follow the link to set up your free account. All Cornell faculty, students, and staff have access.

Wall Street Journal/wsj.com:
To access the Wall Street Journal online, go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/cornelluniversity and register. Select your account type from the dropdown menu, add a password, then read and agree to the Privacy Policy. Then Create and you have access. Available to all faculty, students, and staff at Cornell.

Washington Post/washingtonpost.com:
Unlimited access to washingtonpost.com is not longer available. Access is limited to a few articles per month for nonsubscribers.
Alternative access: Online access to color PDFs of the print Washington Post for the last 90 days (except Sunday) are available in Library Press Display. Current and recent articles (last 2 weeks) from the Washington Post in plain text format are available on Factiva’s Newsstand page.

Online News Access

Factiva:
The Newsstand section on the default home page of Factiva shows the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, mainly plain text (some graphics)—New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition, Europe edition, and Asia edition), Washington Post, Investor’s Business Daily, and the BBC. The Library subscribes to this database, so all Cornell has access.
The content of all publications covered in Factiva is also searchable. Click on the Search button in the top bar.

Financial Times/FT.com:
FT.com is the Financial Times’ name for their online version. It requires a free signup for the pay-walled version. Follow the link in this catalog record. All Cornell has access via our Library subscription. The default version is the “International Edition.” The UK Edition is also available online.

New York Times/nytimes.com:
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only. All undergraduate students have received an e-mail with login instructions. Sign up for digital access.. Law School students, faculty, and staff also have free access. Other users are limited to 10 articles per month without a personal digital subscription.

Wall Street Journal/wsj.com:
To access the Wall Street Journal online, go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/cornelluniversity and register. Select your account type from the dropdown menu, add a password, and agree to the Privacy Policy. Then Create and you have access. Available to all faculty, students, and staff at Cornell.

World Politics Review:
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Nonpartisan, nonideological articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.


See also the Current Events section of our Current Topics research guide, especially:

CQ Magazine [formerly CQ Weekly]. Washington: Congressional Quarterly.
(Online version: 1983 to date.)
CQ Magazine provides nonpartisan coverage of the U.S. Congress: congressional legislation, commission reports, presidential talks and appointments, and even information about birth dates, religious affiliation and occupation of senators and representatives. One of the best and most current of all publications dealing with government action. Covers Congress in depth, but also includes information on the executive and judicial branches of government.

National Journal. [formerly National Journal Group's Policy Central].
(Online.)
Daily updates and reviews of actions and events throughout the Federal Government, including the White House, Federal departments and agencies, Congress, and the Courts. Includes National Journal Almanac [aka Almanac of American Politics in print format, 1998 to date, Olin JK 1010 .B26, latest edition at the reference desk]; National Journal Daily; and National Journal Hotline.

Examples of News Databases funded by the Library

Access World News. (called America's Newspapers before 2005)
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5656506]; subscription.
Coverage: Current, from roughly the mid-1980s on (start dates vary widely). Over 4,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles (about 75% North American titles, 25% international). Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. Mainly in English; some Spanish (see Acceda Noticias).

Ethnic NewsWatch. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/2086708]; subscription.
Coverage: 1959 to date in two files. In English and Spanish. Plain text with some PDFs. Publications by and for ethnic and minority groups.

Nexis Uni.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/10313889]; subscription.
Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio. Plain text. Mainly English and Western European languages.

Web Accessibility Assistance