Current Topics: Selected Information Sources: Current Events

Online: Follow the online versions link in this catalog record to the Publisher's Site link.
Also available in print.
1921 to date.
A monthly pro-con source that features opinion essays on both sides of current issues before Congress written by Representatives and Senators (or, more likely, their staffs). Excellent summary and background essays introduce each topic. Indexed in ProQuest Research Library; use Advanced Search and select Publication title from the drop-down menu to restrict your search to this title.

Current issues online and earlier issues in print.
Print version: 1946 - 27 April 2009
CQ Magazine provides nonpartisan coverage of the U.S. Congress: congressional legislation, commission reports, presidential talks and appointments, and even information about birth dates, religious affiliation and occupation of senators and representatives. One of the best and most current of all publications dealing with government action. Covers Congress in depth, but also includes information on the executive and judicial branches of government.

Current issues available online.
Print version ceased 28 March 2015: Olin Library Oversize JK 1 .N27 +; Library Annex JK 1 .N27.
Daily updates and reviews of actions and events throughout the Federal Government, including the White House, Federal departments and agencies, Congress, and the Courts. Includes access to NationalJournalAlmanac [ the print version is Almanac of American Politics, 1998 to date, Olin Library JK 1010 .B26 The latest year is shelved in the Olin Library Ready Reference collection.]

No longer current
Available online and in print.
Online: 1997 - 2018.
Print: 1965 - 1985; 1992 - 2007.
Catalog records for the print and online versions of this title.

Available online and in print.
Online: 1997 to date.
Print: 1964 - 1985; 1992 - 2006.
Catalog records for the print and online versions of this title.

2000 - 2009.
Previous title, African Recorder: Library Annex Oversize + DT 1 .A2513 [1962 - 1995, incomplete]

Library has 1955 - 2010

Online only.
08/14/2011 to date.
Weekly. A "digestible" collection of Chinese press materials in English.

Online only.
A European press review with English, German, and French summaries for 28 European countries. Text is the translated lead paragraph of articles from newspapers, magazines, and blogs. Some entries link to the full text online in original language and some only to the source site.

Online only.
A daily selection of articles from news sources (print, radio and television media) and newsletters appearing in 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. English translations from Arabic and Farsi. Added links to current source home page when available.

Online only.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Basic or advanced subject searching takes you to in-depth articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Online only.
Full-text articles from ethnic and minority press in America. In English and Spanish.

Online only.
Full-text database of publications that focus on gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage of subjects central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.