Call Number: REf HC 411 U45 (latest edition in Kroch Asia reading room)
Publication Date: Bangkok : Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (1975-- to most current)
Description: Online version has menu of links on the right (Table of Contents lists chapter titles). Includes regional coverage of East & North-East Asia, North & Central Asia, South & South-West Asia, South-East Asia.
Call Number: Ref + HA 1664 K44 (latest edition in Kroch Asia reading room) Also available online; click on title.
Publication Date: Manila, Philippines : Asian Development Bank, 2008-
Description: Volumes may have a special chapter reporting on a specific topic, such as poverty in Asia, with statistics and tables. "Regional Trends and Tables" section covers extensive sub-topics of subjects People; Economy & Output; Money, Finance & Prices; Globalization; Transport & Communications; Energy & Electricity; Environment; Government & Governance.
Call Number: Ref +HA 1664 S79 (2011 in Kroch Asia reading room; later issues are online)
Publication Date: [Bangkok] : Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, United Nations, 1973- 2011
Description: most current issues online; published every 2 years. Chapters cover 32 topics. Separate individual country profiles with tables and graphs. Includes list of online data sources. Connect to individual topics or countries on this page, or download entire book.
Call Number: Ref + HD 8653.5 A85 (Library has 2000-2005; and 2009, in Kroch Asia reading room)
Publication Date: Hong Kong : Asian Migrant Centre
Description: Click on this web link which leads to Asian Migrant Centre home page. Then click on the Publications tab, and scroll down to the box containing the 2004 Asia Migrant Yearbook. It contains both country profiles and country reports for 20 countries. The box next to the 2004 yearbook is the 2005 edition with country reports.
Statistical Snapshots of Asia-Pacific Countries
Call Number: Ref HA 4551 S73+ 2007 (in Kroch Asia reading room)
Publication Date: Singapore : Asia Competitiveness Institute, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore : National Library Board, c2007.
Description: Comparative statistical tables and graphs on society and economics. Chapters arranged by 17 subjects, including "lifestyle and consumption."
These are statistical databases Cornell subscribes to. (use this link, or from the library catalog: click on the "Databases" link on the library catalog home page. Then, under "General interest and Reference," choose Statistical Information)
Includes links for AsiaData (for mobile devices); Statistical Database System; Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific, Asian Development Outlook, Basic Statistics and more.
(The library has Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific Ref +HA 1664 K44; and Asian Development Outlook Ref +HC 411 A83623 in print, latest editions in Kroch Asia reading room.)
Connect to the ESCAP Statistical Database, the Data Visualization (interactive time-series), or Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
On the Statistical Database page, select an Indicator and Area from the tabs on top bar. The Data Visualization page is a way to the same data in graphic form with interactive map (choose Category on the left, Country or region on the right).
In the box for Country Data Services, select a country. (Interface pages for countries may differ. A list of topics may appear, or the page may link to the official country statistics page, or offer other types of search options and downloadable spreadsheets.)
U.N. International Children's Emergency Fund has country statistics for nutrition, health, HIV/AIDS, education, women, child protection, disparities (comparisons) between poor and wealthy; and other topics.
Economist Intelligence Unit's web page has link to Country Reports (use the "blue site" link). The EIU CountryData link has detailed options to find data for a country or region. CityData link covers 140 cities including pricing data from 1990 on.
" CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas"
Includes Premium Databases for India, Indonesia, and China. Global Database section has drop-down list of countries; World Trend Plus has info on ASEAN, geographic areas and topics; associations, and top companies.
"Guest" use at log-on screen gives access to wide range of data but for specialized functions, creating an account (free for C.U.) may be necessary
"..a multicultural advertising, marketing and public relations firm specializing in reaching diverse ethnic groups nationwide." The Multicultural American Demographics provides statistical snapshots of East Asian (including Southeast Asia) and South Asian/Indian ethnic groups. Most data is from 2000 U.S. Census; "Asian American" is updated with 2006. Includes lists of media sources in different countries.
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) collection includes quantitative data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations). for international countries as well as the U.S. (See International tab).