Skip to main content

Philosophy: A Research Guide: Research
Guides

Includes print titles in the Olin Library reference collection, titles shelved in the general stacks, and online reference materials. Search or browse the our Catalog and Databases for more titles. Click on the TABS to see each topic.

Research Guides and Overviews of the Literature of Philosophy

Oxford Bibliographies: Philosophy
Pritchard, Duncan, ed.
Oxford: Oxford UP, 2010.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on philosophy. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Bynagle, Hans E.
2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997.
(Olin Ref Z 7125 .B97x 1997)

Extensive scope, critical annotations. Emphasis on English language materials.
 

Library Research Guide to Philosophy
List, Charles J. and Stephen H. Plum
Ann Arbor: Pierian Press, 1990.
(Olin Ref Z 7125 .L77)

Somewhat out of date, but still useful.
 

Research Guide to Philosophy
Tice, Terrence N. and Thomas P. Slavens
Chicago: American Library Association, 1983.
(Olin Ref B 52 .T55)

Arranged into fourteen historical periods, with an annotated bibliography of bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, digests, handbooks, plus indexes according to author-title and subject.
 

Research Help

Tony Cosgrave's picture
Tony Cosgrave
Contact:
109 Uris Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14853

(607)255-7148
Website

Web Accessibility Assistance