Skip to main content

Philosophy: A Research Guide: Biographical
Sources

Includes print titles in the Olin Library reference collection, titles shelved in the general stacks, and online reference materials. Search or browse the our Catalog and Databases for more titles. Click on the TABS to see each topic.

Reference Works Focused on Philosophers

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers
Brown, Stuart, Diané Collinson and Robert Wilkinson, eds.
New York: Routledge, 1996.
(Olin Ref B 104 .B46w 1996 +)

"This substantial reference work provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influences and receptions of the most important philosophers of the twentieth century. Over 1000 entries, covering philosophers from all over the world, offer detailed biographical and bibliographical information, and analytic accounts of the thought and critical reception of each figure." (Publisher).
 

Biographical Encyclopaedia of Islamic Philosophy
Leaman, Oliver, ed.
2 vols. New York : Thoemmes Continuum, 2006.
(Olin Ref B 741 .B56 2006)

"[A]n international group of authors has contributed clear, accessible entries written in non-technical language, and no previous understanding of either philosophy or religion is presupposed. The biographical entries include all the major thinkers of Islamic philosophy since the foundation of the faith, as well as minor but significant figures, many of which have not previously been profiled or described in English. Every major school of thought, from classical falasifa to Sufi mysticism, is represented, and entries range across time from the early years of the faith to the modern period." (Oxford University Press)
2006 CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title
 

A Companion to the Philosophers
Arrington, Robert L., ed.
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1999.
(Olin Ref B 72 .C595x 1999)

Multicultural approach, covering -- African philosophers -- Chinese philosophers -- European and American philosophers -- Indian philosophers -- Japanese philosophers -- Islamic and Jewish philosophers. Includes bibliographical references and index.
 

Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers
Shook, John R. and Richard T. Hull, eds.
4 vols. Bristol: Thoemmes Continuum, 2005.
(Olin Ref B 851 .D53 2005)

Contains 1082 entries by over 500 authors, and provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present.
 

Directory of American Philosophers
Bahm, Archie J., ed.
Bowling Green, OH: Philosophy Documentation Center, 1962 - .
(Latest edition in Olin Ref B 935 .D59; 1964/65 through the next-to-latest edition in Olin Stacks B 935 .D59 +

[T]he most comprehensive source of information on philosophical activity in North America in either print or electronic formats." (Publisher).
 

The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
Glendinning, Simon, ed.
Edinburgh: University Press, 1999.
( Online; print version at Olin Stacks B 804 .E43x 1999 +)

"Provides extensive coverage of all the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope is broad, ranging from Classical Idealism through Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Psychoanalysis, to Structuralism and Post Structuralism." (Publisher).
 

Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book
Kersey, Ethel M.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
(Olin Ref B 105 .W6 K41)

Covers over 150 women philosophers from antiquity to 20th century women born mostly before 1920. It includes an appendix listing women philosophers by historical period, country, and discipline. An alphabetized name index is also available.
 

World Philosophers and Their Works
Roth, John K., Christina J. Moose and Rowena Wildin, eds.
3 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2000.
(Olin Ref B 104 .W67x 2000 +)

"[N]ot only covers Western philosophers from the Greeks, including Plato and Aristotle, through modern thinkers such as Paul M. Churchland, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Annette C. Baier but also examines philosophical standouts from Asian and African cultures." (Publisher).
 

The World's Great Philosophers
Arrington, Robert L., ed.
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2003.
(Olin Stacks B 29 .W69x 2003)

"Most of the essays contained in this book were originally published in A Companion to the Philosophers (Oxford: Blackwell, 1999). Several have been revised, and three ... are new." (Preface).
See Table of Contents online.

Web Accessibility Assistance