Skip to main content

Philosophy: A Research Guide: Online Journals
and Books

Includes print titles in the Olin Library reference collection, titles shelved in the general stacks, and online reference materials. Search or browse the our Catalog and Databases for more titles. Click on the TABS to see each topic.

Online Book and Journal Collections

Here are a few collections of online philosophy journals and books. Other ejournals and ebooks can be found in the Library Catalog.

 

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

Use the Advanced Search option and then choose Philosophy under "Journal Filter Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal". Contains the full text of 1,491 philosophy journals from volume 1 up to the "moving wall," usually 3 to 5 years before the present.

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy focuses on the core areas of philosophy, concentrating on recent books - most of them from the last ten years, accompanied by some classics from the 1960s to the 1980s.

 

Past Masters (CUL)

The Past Masters collection consists of the English-language translation of over 100 political and philosophical texts ranging from the works of ancient Greece to the early twentieth century. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century English philosophy.
 

Past Masters (InteLex)

The Past Masters collection consists of over 100 political and philosophical texts ranging from the works of ancient Greece to the early twentieth century some in translation and some in the original language. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century English philosophy.

 

POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials
Bowling Green: Philosophy Documentation Center, 1999.

User may need to click "LOGIN" to access Cornell University licensed resources.

Full-text online access to a growing number of philosophy journals, including articles, book reviews, footnotes, announcements, and notices. More than 60 journals have been licensed for the project and the database will ultimately contain 100 philosophy journals and UMI's collection of philosophy dissertation abstracts. Not all journals are available in full text.

 

Project MUSE

A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. It includes numerous important philosophy journals.