Skip to main content

Philosophy: A Research Guide: Selected Article
Databases

Includes print titles in the Olin Library reference collection, titles shelved in the general stacks, and online reference materials. Search or browse the our Catalog and Databases for more titles. Click on the TABS to see each topic.

Selected Databases

Databases for Finding Articles:

Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
 

JSTOR: Philosophy

Use the Advanced Search option and then choose Philosophy under "Journal Filter Narrow by Discipline or Journal". Contains the full text of 1,491 philosophy journals from volume 1 up to the "moving wall," usually 3 to 5 years before the present.
 

Interdisciplinary Databases that cover Philosophy Journals:

Academic Search Premier

EBSCO Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 academic multi-disciplinary serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis.
 

Google Scholar

Another interdisciplinary database that accesses a subset of the scholarly literature in articles, books, and some dissertations. Particularly useful for its "Cited by" feature that links to newer sources that cite the entries found.
 

Humanities International Index

Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. It includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities, and provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
 

ProQuest Research Library

Indexes and abstracts an extensive number of periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Also included are citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Full text of many articles is provided.

 

For more philosophy databases, click on the Databases link on the Library home page and the Religion and Philosophy link in the Arts and Humanities section..