About Mann
Albert R.
Mann Library
mann-ref@cornell.edu
(607) 255-5406
Mann Library supports the instruction, research, and extension programs of Cornell University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and College of Human Ecology.
No matter where you are in the research process, we encourage you to ask for information consulting services. Email us your question or request a consultation. Reference librarians are here to assist.
Web Resources for Financial Research
Company and Financial Research
Public companies will almost always have a lot more information available (including much more detailed financial information) than private companies. On the other hand, there are far more private companies than there are public companies. Most company research tools either have extensive company profiles (but fewer company's listed), or brief company profiles (and millions of companies listed).
Public company research tools will sometimes list private companies, but they usually only include the largest of private companies. Additionally, private company research tools will include public companies, but the profiles will be far less extensive than they would be in a public company research tool.
Because of all of this, we recommend that you use different resources when you're conducting public company research than when you're conducting private company research.
Public Company Research
- Capital IQCapital IQ is a major financial platform used to find data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies.
- WorkspaceWorkspace (from Refinitiv) is a financial research platform that provides company financials, market data, transaction data, and analyst reports (Aftermarket Research). Students, faculty, and staff will need to register for an account using a Cornell email address.
- Gale Business: InsightsExtensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
- EDGAR - SEC FilingsAll companies traded in an American exchange are required to submit official filings to the SEC. This is the official repository for these filings.
Private Company Research
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- Nexis UniAn interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- OrbisProvides access to company information and financial data for more than 275 million companies worldwide. Users can screen for companies based on geography, financial performance, industry, deals, ownership structure, number of employees, year of incorporation, and other criteria. Orbis is an excellent source for private company information, especially in international markets.
- PitchBookPitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users must create an account using your Cornell email address. Log in > Log in with SSO > [Cornell email address].
Bloomberg
Bloomberg is a powerful and customizable financial Research tool with data for almost all publicly traded companies around the world, trading data for commodities, currencies, bonds, treasuries and notes, news, executive information and much more. Bloomberg is also one of the few resources that provides detailed and extensive historical securities data, often down to individual ticks.
Mann has 3 Bloomberg terminals located on the main level in the computing area (in the Business Resources section). Bloomberg terminals can also be found in the Management Library, the Hotel Library and the Law Library.
For more information on how to use Bloomberg, take a look at the Management Library's Guide on "How To: Bloomberg".
WRDS
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a host for a variety of sources of current and historical Business Data. While the data are extensive, there are use restrictions to WRDS.
Please contact a librarian if you're interested in downloading large quantities of Business data.