Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: A Guide to Library Resources: Article
Databases

This guide is selective and limited to items held by the Cornell University Library, with an emphasis on those resources held in the Reference collections of Olin, Kroch, and Uris Libraries

Recommended Databases

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively.

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities, with many links to full text.

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text collection of English-language poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Click on the Criticism & Reference link to search for journal articles.

Literature Resource Center
A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database -great starting point for research on all topics.

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

FRANCIS: International, Multilingual, Multidisciplinary Humanities and Social Sciences
A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%). It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present.