North Korea: Introductory Sources: News Sources and News Blogs

NK Pro (language: English) provides North Korea news, data analysis tools such as the North Korea Leadership Tracker, the North Korea Ship Tracker, the North Korea Aviation Tracker, Leading Indicator, and KCNA Watch. Current investigative stories with photos

North Korean News section on official web site. A list of topics includes politics, economy, art & literature, sports, history, life & food culture, external relations, and more (May take time to load, or occasionally be down).

(Has English language option) A state-controlled website that provides Korean language news from North Korea's central news agency. The site also distributes information over Twitter, Youtube, Flickr and Facebook. "Uriminjokkiri" is transliterated Korean for "Our Nation Itself." The Website's server is located in China.

CNA Watch is an aggregator of official DPRK media output, which updates in real time. Due to regular server outages and multiple occasions malicious scripts have been found on official DPRK media sites, KCNA Watch mirrors all DPRK media for easy access and browsing. Archived articles as well as current photos, current issues of periodicals and newspapers.

News agency web site has tab for North Korea.

"Independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea" based in Delaware with international staff. Interesting features include Ask a North Korean (link is on the top menu bar) and Photo Gallery.

English-language online version of Pyongyang Sinmun, the daily paper of the Worker's Party of Korea.

English version of North Korean news media site (Korean Central News Agency of DPRK). Official newspaper of the ruling party.

Radio broadcasts from North Korea. In multiple languages, including English. Also has links to narrators reading from works of Kim Il Sung, Kim Jong Il, KIm Jong Un. Simple Korean language lesson. Some songs.

South Korean national newspaper. Includes "North Korea" tab for current DPRK news.

Korean language on-line newspaper based in Japan, by DPRK-sympathetic Korean community.

From Seoul, NK.net, In English, Korean or Chinese. Current news and stories from and about North Korea.

"Oldest online newspaper in North Korea" (masthead statement). Published by Midwest Radio Network, part of Big News Network, Australia.

"News from Inside North Korea"

News from North Korea as well as Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Tibet, Uyghur, Vietnam. (Includes many news stories not usually seen in Western sources.) Web site also has political cartoons and news videos.

Use "North Korea" in the "headline" field of the search function. Results can be limited by the options on the left, which include date span or source type -- current international newspapers, journals or magazines, videos, audio, newswire services and more.

List of websites based in North Korea; major sites based outside North Korea. Includes discontinued or unavailable sites. Tabs for Business, Technology, Internet, Space, Security and other topics have news posts.

BBC Selected Newspaper and Wire Service article from Pyongyang sources; 1997-2021 Newspapers, 1997--current WiresServices.

Web site by the group claiming responsibility for the Madrid N.K. embassy intrusion, but "on hiatus" since 2019.

(Henry L. Stimson Center, Wash. D.C.) "Informed analysis of events in and around the DPRK." Includes WMD, domestic & foreign affairs, media analysis, military affairs, book reviews, satellite imagery, videos and more.

See sources listed under Quick References, and further down under Publications for reports. English and Korean sources. The Media/Blogs page has extensive list of media sources, films, books.

San-Francisco based blog covering news about North Korean technology, space & satellites, media, business, security issues and internet.

Profile of internet use and computer access in DPRK; hacker groups & their targets. (Comparitech: "pro-consumer website" carrying out cyber security research and data breaches; testing antivirus and VPN products.)

(N.K. Economy Watch). links to more blogs, media organizations, think tanks, Chinese sites, aid organizations, defector orgs., NK web pages, photo sets, films, books.

Wordpress blog about the North Korean leadership; includes biographies and Kim family background; info on the security apparatus (military organization and commanders) and charts of the Party organization. News posts are several years out of date.

Web site consisting of chronologically ordered photos of Kim Jong Un looking at things from missiles to soda pop bottles, from babies to salmon to "that thing over there."