United Nations Documents: Reference Sources and Print Indexes

Prepared and maintained by the Department of Public Information (DPI), Dag Hammarskjöld Library (DHL) .Presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization and guidance on how to work with them.

[Olin library also owns the print editions from 1946-2010: JX1977.A37 Y4 +; latest year in Reference]
"The Yearbook of the United Nations is the principal reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks, 1945 to the most recent(2005), are available online and provide citations to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions. The Yearbook helps researchers to identify relevant documentation."

Print resource
Contains key UN documents highlighting the work of the previous UN session.

Print resource
Excellent summary and overview of subjects before the General Assembly. Sources of information in the essays are carefully noted. Good source of statistics for speeches and papers.

Print resource
A good source for background information on the UN with the full texts of major protocols, conventions, and charters. Entries on wars, technical terms in international diplomacy, treaties, countries, issues, significant geography. No biographical entries.

For digitized editions of annual print indexes.

Print resource
Includes a subject index and an index to speeches delivered in the General Assembly. Another set of Indexes to Proceedings of the General Assembly is bound with United Nations. General Assembly. Official Records: 1946 to 1995/96, 1997/98.
[Olin Reference JX 1977 .A41 ++; currently shelved in the UN documents area, Olin B Level]. The Index is bound in the last volume for each year.

Print resource
Law Library has 1964-2020. Olin has 2006-2008, uncataloged, shelved in the UN documents storage ranges, section 21 of the compact shelving in Olin B52]
Indexes to Proceedings of the Security Council are also bound with United Nations. Security Council. Official Records = Proces-verbaux officiels: 1946 to 1967, 1969 to 1978, 1980 to 1987. [Olin Reference JX 1977 .A42 ++; currently shelved in the UN documents area, Lower Level]. The Indexes are bound in the last volume for each year.
Another set of the print indexes covering 1964 to 1994 is available at Law: Indexes to Proceedings of the Security Council. [Law Library JX 1976 .S41]

Print resource
Note especially the 4-volume Cumulated Index to the United Nations Documents Index, covering 1950-1962 (volumes 1-13 of the United Nations Documents Index) and shelved in Olin reference at + Z 6481 .A1 U561. The Cumulated Index must be used with volumes 1 through 13 of the United Nations Documents Index for these years which are shelved in the Olin stacks (+ Z 6481 .A1 .U56).