Full-text collections: Print Sources
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy by Publication Date: 1999Print title.
Reproduced in this two-volume set are hundreds of treaties and agreements made by Indian nations--with, among others, the Continental Congress; England, Spain, and other foreign countries; the Republic of Texas and the Confederate States; railroad companies seeking rights-of-way across Indian land; and other Indian nations. Many were made with the United States but either remained unratified by Congress or were rejected by the Indians themselves after the Senate amended them. Many others are "agreements" made after U.S. treaty making with Indian tribes officially ended in 1871. These documents--augmented by chapter introductions that concisely set each type of treaty in its historical and political context--these documents effectively trace the evolution of American Indian diplomacy in the United States. This volume is the first major accessible compilation since Charles Kappler's 1904 Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties (See Online Sources, below). As a group, these documents highlight American Indians' roles as active agents in international diplomatic affairs.
- v. 1. Pennsylvania and Delaware treaties, 1629-1737
- v. 2. Pennsylvania treaties, 1737-1756
- v. 3. Pennsylvania treaties, 1756-1775
- v. 4. Virginia treaties, 1607-1722
- v. 5. Virginia treaties, 1723-1775
- v. 6. Maryland treaties, 1632-1775
- v. 7. New York and New Jersey treaties, 1609-1682
- v. 8. New York and New Jersey treaties, 1683-1713
- v. 9. New York and New Jersey treaties, 1714-1753
- v. 10. New York and New Jersey treaties, 1754-1775.
- v. 11. Georgia treaties, 1733-1763
- v. 12. Georgia and Florida treaties, 1763-1776
- v. 13. North and South Carolina Treaties, 1654-1756
- v. 14. North and South Carolina treaties, 1756-1775
- v. 15. Virginia and Maryland laws
- v. 16. Carolina and Georgia laws
- v. 17. New England and middle Atlantic laws
- v. 18. Revolution and confederation
- v. 19. New England treaties, southeast, 1524-1761
- v. 20. New England treaties, north and west, 1650-1776.
Full-text collections: Online sources
- HeinOnline U.S. Treaties & Agreements Library"... includes all treaties and international agreements the U.S. has been a party to from the inception of the country to present. Including treaties and agreements with the Indigenous Peoples of the Americas ...
In addition, this database includes hundreds of hearings, books, and texts relating to U.S. treaties as well as numerous treaty guides, indexes, and other treaty publications." [Guide to the HeinOnline U.S Treaties & Agreements] - Indian Affairs Laws & Treaties (in HeinOnline)Compiled by Charles J. Kappler. Washington: GPO, 1904 -. 7 volumes.
Volume two contains treaties from 1778 - 1883. - Indigenous Law. United States. Relations with Federal governmentDigitized texts from LLMC digital. Includes Kappler's Indian Affairs Laws & Treaties. Volume 2: Treaties.
Laws (by date);
Agencies (alpha order);
Judicial (by date);
Treaties, Collections (alpha order); Volume 2
Documents (alpha order);
Treatises (alpha order);
Reference (alpha order);
Miscellaneous (by date).
Indexes and Finding Aids
- List of Indian TreatiesThis list builds on the efforts of Charles Kappler. This source is a committee print from the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs containing a list of treaties from the Annual Report of the Bureau of Indian Affairs from 1903, treaties from the Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, the index from Volume 2 of Kappler's Indian Affairs, Laws, and Treaties and selected references on Indian treaties.