Overview
- Mulitlateral treaties are required to be registered with the United Nations.
- Bilateral treaties are not required to be registered with the United Nations (although many are)
Multilateral Treaties
- HeinOnline World Treaty Library" ... [B]rings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one easy-to-use and fully searchable database. Search a comprehensive treaty index by keywords, title, parties, sign date or citation. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications"-- Provided by publisher. See also: Additional Resources listed on the HeinOnline World Treaty Library Guide.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionA full-text collection of multilateral (and many bilateral) treaties deposited with the United Nations. The United Nations Treaty Series database offers a number of ways to search for treaties.
The glossary and the FAQs on the main site (example: How can I get a list of all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations to which one specific State is a signatory or a party? and"How do I cite a document obtained electronically from this site?") are especially helpful.
The consolidated treaty series by Print title.
231 volumes. Covers the years 1648 - 1920. "The present series ... is proposed ... to make a beginning with the year 1648 ... and, for the period between that year and the date of commencement of the League series (approximately 1918-20), to reproduce such prints of treaties in their original languages as can be found in whatsoever collection along with such translations into English or French as again ... can be found."
Bilateral Treaties (non-US)
Bilateral treaties are not required to be registered with the United Nations (although many are).
- United Nations Treaty CollectionSearch the United Nations Treaty Series databases by "participant."
- World LII (Legal Information Institute)By country.
In some cases, you may need to research the government documents of individual countries to find information on bilateral treaties. The excellent Foreign Law Guide, which lists secondary and primary (governmental) sources by country, is a good starting point.
- Peace Agreements Digital CollectionPart of the Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Library in International Conflict Management, The Peace Agreements Digital Collection strives to contain the full text of agreements signed by the major contending parties ending inter- and intra-state conflicts worldwide since 1989. It is a collection constantly under development as a means to strengthen worldwide access to information on peaceful means to end international conflict.
- Peace AgreementsCompiled by the Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP)
European Union
- EUR-LexEUR-Lex (Treaties) Luxembourg: European Communities, c1998- .
EUR-Lex section for EU treaties. "From this page you can access the basic legal texts on which the European Union and the European Communities are founded: the founding Treaties (original versions and later updatings), the amending Treaties, the Accession Treaties for each of the five enlargements, plus other essential documents such as the Constitution." (web site) Searchable.