Spirits Industry Guide: Books

Published annually. For more than 50 years, the Liquor Handbook has been the most authoritative, reliable and accurate source for information on annual distilled spirits sales and consumption. The 300-plus page volume offers detailed data on every spirits category, a ranking of the industry's top 150 brands, a breakdown of advertising expenditures by brand and company, supplier performance, category development indices, major metro market demographics and more. Each category section includes a 12-year history of consumption listed by state market.

Complete reference to distilled spirits industry reports jam-packed with data and analysis, including: brand data; consumption trends by type and origin; brand depletion trends; brewer, vintner, and distiller analysis, detailed drinker demographics; company and brand advertising expenditures since 1970; comprehensive state data by segment and type; exclusive brand price/growth analysis; retail sales by category/type/brand; detailed economic review; international coverage and much more ...

An all-inclusive guide to wine, beer, and spirits. Beverage Basics covers the art and science of winemaking from the vineyard to the table, takes a comprehensive look at the production methods, styles, and ideal food pairings for beer and spirits, and even covers the often-overlooked issues of health and the law. The book offers expansive coverage of everything you need to know about virtually all of the world's common alcoholic drinks.

Unique to this book, is the strong emphasis on food and wine pairings. The Handbook explains the responsibilities of a sommelier from both service and managerial perspectives. Readers explore their wine-related duties including: the developing of wine lists, identifying faulty wines, ordering, receiving, and storing wines, conducting inventory control, pricing, product research, cellar management, and the health and legal implications of wine consumption.

Examines how much Americans spend on alcoholic and other beverages by the demographics that count—age, income, high-income households, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and education. It also presents who-are-the-best-customers analyses of the data, showing the best and biggest customers at a glance. It looks at who buys beer, wine, whiskey, and other alcoholic beverages at home, on trips, and at restaurants and bars.

Intended for Courses in Wines, Beers and Spirits, Dining Room Services and Beverage Cost Control, this work gives an introduction to the history, science, and varieties of alcoholic beverages, and includes an anecdotal history of alcoholic beverages and their cultural influences. It also offers a presentation of wines, beers and spirits.

Vodka is the most versatile of spirits. Created by distilling fermented grains, potatoes, beets, or other vegetables, this colorless, tasteless, and odorless liquor has been enjoyed by both the rich and the poor throughout its existence, but it has also endured many obstacles along its way to global popularity. In this book, Patricia Herlihy takes us for a ride through vodka's history, from its mysterious origins in a Slavic country in the fourteenth century to its current transatlantic reign over Europe and North America.

Although familiar as the most distinctive ingredient of the Margarita, tequila is also a rich source of legend, mystery, and misinformation. The history of tequila is interwoven with the history of Mexico, and may be a window into the soul of the nation.

Cognac is a universal symbol of refinement and quality. In the first comprehensive history of this celebrated drink, Kyle Jarrard charts Cognac's birth in the 1500s and its transformation into the world's most coveted brandy. He reveals how Cognac distillers weathered vineyard die-offs, the German occupation, and other challenges over the years-and offers a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at Hennessy, Remy-Martin, Courvoisier, Martell, and other legendary brands.

McHarry's classic handbook offers recipes and distillation methods for a variety of spirits and liqueurs. A thorough overview of the numerous processes by which whiskey and other alcohol varieties are derived, The Practical Distiller is also notable for detailing the history of alcohol and safety precautions associated with myriad distillation techniques.

Single-Malt Scotch Swept North America during the 1980s. Now, the same connoisseurs, curious consumers, and longtime bourbon-only drinkers are avidly seeking out the new batch of America's own homegrown whiskeys. The Regans explore "the king of American whiskeys" from its humble backwoods origins to its modern refinements, including a wealth of lore, anecdotes, and history, along with tasting notes and more than 50 recipes.