Spanish-Language Resources Online or in the Library: A Guide: Articles

This broad, multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. To choose the Spanish-language search interface, go to the top right hand side under the link "Languages" and select Español from the options.

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, with citations drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism. To choose the Spanish-language search interface, go to the top right-hand side under the link "Languages" and select Español from the options.

Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish, making ENW an unmatched bilingual diversity database. To search in Spanish, click on the white portrait image in the green bar at the right, click on the displayed language (usually English) and select "Espanol" from the dropdown list.

Provides global content,including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Covers 9,000 sources from 152 countries. To find articles in Spanish: from the top of the search page, click the gear icon at far right, select Languages from the dropdown list, and select "Español".

A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%). It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present, with more than 872,000 records. To search for Spanish language sources, click on Advanced Search and change All fields in the dropdown menu to "Language" and enter Spanish.

HAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world from 1970 to the present. Many of the citations are linked to full text where available. On main search screen you can limit your results to Spanish by entering Spanish-language words in the search boxes.

This index to historical journals includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 titles, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history. Covers articles published from 1954 to date. To choose the Spanish-language search interface, go to the top right hand side under the link "Languages" and select Español from the options.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature. To limit results to Spanish-language articles, go to "Advanced Search", and under "Narrow By" select the pull down menu by clicking on "Languages" and choose "Spanish."

LLBA contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, book review listings, and enhanced bibliographic citations of relevant dissertations." Related disciplines such as anthropology, education, ethnology, information science, medicine, and communications are covered. Also includes some reference to papers in published conference proceedings. To search in Spanish, click on the white portrait image in the green bar at the right, click on the displayed language (usually English) and select "Espanol" from the dropdown list.

Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. Extensive coverage on Spanish language and literature found in journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. To choose the Spanish-language search interface, go to the top right hand side under the link "Languages" and select Español from the options.

Public Affairs Information Service contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese. To search in Spanish, go to Advanced search and click the Spanish box within the Language: box.

Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others. To limit to Spanish, go to the Filter Results column at left and click the box Spanish in the Language choices below.

ProQuest Research Library indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided. To search in Spanish, click on the white portrait image in the green bar at the right, click on the displayed language (usually English) and select "Espanol" from the dropdown list.