Public Health: Health Data and Statistics

Per their "About" page, the Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases (ProMED) "is the largest publicly-available system conducting global reporting of infectious disease outbreaks... Reports are produced and commentary provided by a multidisciplinary global team of subject matter expert (SME) Moderators in a variety of fields including virology, parasitology, epidemiology, entomology, veterinary and plant diseases."

Per their "About" page, "GeoSentinel  is an international network of clinics and healthcare providers dedicated to monitoring infectious diseases and other travel-related health issues among international travelers and migrants... GeoSentinel is a network of 71 specialized travel and tropical medicine sites across six continents and the largest international network dedicated to the collection of provider-based data on travel-related illnesses."

Homepage of the World Health Organization (WHO).

Homepage of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations.

Homepage of the World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH).

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the leading national telephone survey system, which, per their homepage, gathers data on U.S. residents' "health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."

Per their FAQ page, "[t]he Department of Population Health at NYU Langone Health and the Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service at NYU created the Dashboard as a health improvement planning resource for U.S. cities. The Dashboard... is a one-stop resource for viewing and comparing data from multiple sources on health and the factors that shape health to guide local solutions."

Per their "About" page, the CEL's goal is to "...develop and use technology platforms and novel datasets to support and inform patterns of disease, promote public health, and contribute to infectious disease surveillance efforts." Projects of note include HealthMap, Outbreaks Near Me, VaccineFinder, and more.

Per their "About Us" page, "[t]he County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R), a program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, draws attention to why there are differences in health within and across communities... CHR&R provides a snapshot of the health of nearly every county in the nation." Data is organized by county, with a rural focus.

"Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition."

"The independent source for health policy research, polling, and news."

"NCHS provides timely and accurate health statistics for the United States."

"The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States."

"National HIV Behavioral Surveillance (NHBS) is a comprehensive system for bio-behavioral surveillance conducted since 2003 in populations disproportionately affected by HIV. NHBS collects data on behavioral risk factors for HIV (e.g., sexual behaviors, drug use), HIV testing behaviors, receipt of prevention services, and use of prevention strategies (e.g., condoms, PrEP). All NHBS participants are offered an HIV test."

"The National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA) is a publicly available data archive containing measures of the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale (eg, census tract, ZIP code tabulation area, county). Each NaNDA dataset covers all or most of the entire nation (including both rural and urban areas) and represents a set of measures on a single topic of interest, including socioeconomic disadvantage, healthcare, housing, partisanship, and public transit, with temporal coverage dating back to 2000." Excellent for identifying and comparing peer counties.

Per their "About" page,"CDC's National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) collects data on cancer occurrence (including the type, extent, and location of the cancer), the type of initial treatment, and outcomes."

"NSSP provides expertise and technical assistance to public health professionals as we work together to investigate and respond to health threats... Syndromic surveillance provides public health officials with a timely system for detecting, understanding, and monitoring health threats."

Per their "Methods" page, "[t]he objective of the Opportunity Atlas is to measure the average outcomes (e.g., earnings) of children who grow up in each neighborhood in America, by demographic subgroup (race, gender, and parental income)" in a collaborative effort between the Census Bureau and Opportunity Insights of Harvard University.

Per their "About" page, "Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is an ongoing, site-specific, and population-based surveillance system. PRAMS is designed to identify groups of women and infants at high risk for health problems, to monitor changes in health status, and to measure progress towards goals in improving the health of mothers and infants."

Per their "About RHIhub" page, "[t]he Rural Health Information Hub, formerly the Rural Assistance Center, is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy to be a national clearinghouse on rural health issues."

Per their "At a Glance" page, "[t]he Census Bureau is the federal government’s largest statistical agency. We are dedicated to providing current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy."

"The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) is a set of surveys that track behaviors that can lead to poor health in students grades 9 through 12."

"PREDICT initiated One Health Surveillance, a transdisciplinary collaborative approach to understanding infectious disease risk at the animal-human interface." The Legacy Book, Executive Summary, and Data remain available, as well as COVID-19 response documentation.