America's Historical Newspapers
Ser.1, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies. -- Ser. 2, 1758-1900. This collection focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. -- Ser. 3, 1829-1922. This collection focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. -- Ser. 4, 1756 - 1922. This collection includes 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. -- Ser. 5, 1777-1922. This collection presents 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states, including the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass. -- Ser. 6 includes more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. -- Ser. 7. includes many new titles of singular importance, including New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837 and one of the South's most prominent newspapers, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily. -- Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. -- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, includes newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. -- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. --Texas Historical Newspapers Archive, 1836-1977.