Dissertating in the Digital Age: Research and Writing Tools for Organization and Productivity is a comprehensive set of recommended tools for all stages of the research and writing process, and included some coverage of archival research tools to consider.
Digital workflows for the Archives is a 2013 article from ProfHacker that walks you through the workflow of a researcher who chose to use his iphone and a scanner app rather than an SLR camera. While there are now more options in terms of tools, the same workflow could be applied.
#twitterstorians in the archives:
I visited 16 archives on 3 continents, took digital photos of 100K+ pgs of archival material, + gathered thousands more pgs in other formats to write #ForgottenPeace. As a result, I have a comprehensive system of archival methodologies + best practices #twitterstorians pic.twitter.com/1aJiWNnDxS— Robert A. Karl (@RAKarl) July 21, 2018
A digital camera, whether it is a high-end DSLR, palm-sized point & shoot, or iPhone, can be used as a scanner. And it can save you a lot of time and expense, especially if you do research in rare book collections and archives. This guide covers the issues that camera-wielding researchers might encounter in using cameras as research tools in libraries and archives.
Sample policies on photography
Policies developed for camera use in special collections facilties generally provide safeguards for issues as:
- care and preservation of materials (e.g., no flash or additional forms of lighting, no placing of photographic apparatus on materials, no folding, bending, etc.)
- consideration of other researchers (e.g., turn off shutter sounds)
- copyright clearance (e.g., it is the researcher's responsibility to investigate copyright, images are for personal use and study only, images will not be distributed on the open web)
- publication (e.g., researcher will not publish images)
The Desktop Profession
Camera in the archives