Popular Culture: A Research Guide: Magazine & Newspaper Articles as Primary Sources

ProQuest.
"An archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art & architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Fully searchable, full color and high resolution" -- Web site

EBSCO.
Covers issues from 11/01/1945 to 06/01/2014 with PDFs.
Link is to the catalog record. Use the link in the Availability section of the record to access the content.

ProQuest.
1880 to 2000.
"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles." -- Web site

EBSCO.
Covers issues from 02/01/1930 to 12/18/2000. Still being developed. Link is to the catalog record. Use the availability link in the record to access the content.

ProQuest.
Includes Harpers and Queen full text coverage, January 1972 to December 2000; Harper's Bazaar (New York), November 2, 1867 to recent; and Harper's Bazaar (London), April 1930 to December 1969 (with some exceptions), 2007.
"...access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering a cultural lens into the modern era."--Web site

Brill.
In Russian. Illustrated weeklies from late Imperial Russia, 1900 to 1917.

ProQuest.
"Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications from 1954-2015 covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles - The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community." [Summary in catalog record]

This is the Google Books version of Life magazine. Scroll down to see the "Browse All Issues" section, which allows you to select individual issues. Use Google Books' Advanced search page to do specific keyword searches.

EBSCO.
Covers issues from 11/23/1936 to 05/01/2000.

Online research guide.
Access a wealth of historical newspaper articles using this guide to our major newspaper resources online.

Online research guide.
To find popular magazines from the past, start in the Databases section of this guide.

H.W. Wilson database.
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States between 1890 and 1982. Index only--no full text.

Collected by: Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation
Archived since: Dec, 2019
Popular women's magazines in the United States have long documented women's thoughts, activities, economic power, sexuality, political interests, social, cultural, and domestic life. The U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. This collection enables the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation to continue to capture and extend collections of these serial publications.

ProQuest.
1892 to date.
Fully searchable, digitized articles, covers, photo shoots, illustrations and advertisements.

ProQuest.
1964 to date.
Fully searchable, digitized articles, covers, photo shoots, illustrations and advertisements.

ProQuest.
The full text online of the following women's magazines and years
Better Homes and Gardens (July 1922 - December 2005)
Chatelaine (March 1928 - December 2005)
Good Housekeeping (2 May 1885 - December 2005)
Ladies' Home Journal (December 1885 - December 2005)
Parents (October 1926 - December 2005)
Redbook (November 1903 - December 2005)
Cosmopolitan (1886-2005)
Note: Cosmopolitan merged with Hearst's International in 1925. The merged title was known for several years as Hearst's International. Combined with Cosmopolitan before reverting to the title Cosmopolitan.
Essence (1970-2005)
Seventeen (1944-2005)
Town and Country (1846-2005)
Woman's Day (1937-2005)
Women's International Network News (1975-September 2003)

ProQuest.
Full text coverage, 1910 to six months ago.
Fully searchable, digitized articles, covers, photo shoots, illustrations and advertisements.