Getting Started: Major Popular Culture Encyclopedias
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 169.1 .S764 2013 +Publication Date: 2013Available online and in print format.
5 volumes. The second edition of this comprehensive reference encyclopedia. A good starting point for research on twentieth- and twenty-first century popular culture topics. Limited to the United States. - The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference HM 621 .G74 2007 +Publication Date: 2007Print only.
6 volumes. Articles on popular culture worldwide, organized by geographic regions.
See also the next section for information on the popular culture of specific topics, countries or regions, and groups.
Specialized Popular Culture Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Popular Culture by Subject or Topic
- Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference GV 867.64 .R52x 2000 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2000.
- Encyclopedia of American StudiesBaltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2018.
Online only.
Hundreds of articles on popular culture in the U.S. - Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural HistoryCall Number: Olin Library Reference TT 957 .S46 2006 +Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 184.35 .E54 2009 +Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
Available as an ebook and in print format. - Encyclopedia of Latino Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 184 .S75 E53 2004 +2 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
- The Encyclopedia of Popular Music4th edition. New York: Oxford, 2009.
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 184 .A1 E584 2008 +2nd edition. 4 volumes. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
- Encyclopedia of TelevisionCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN 1992.18 .E53 2004 +2nd edition. 4 volumes. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
- Football: An Encyclopedia of Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference GV 948.85 .R54 2009Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2009.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN 1993.45 .I61 2000 +4th edition. 4 volumes. Detroit: St. James, 2000. Second copy in the Olin stacks.
Available online and in print format. - The International Encyclopedia of Communication OnlineMalden, MA: Wiley/Blackwell, 2008- .
Search popular culture within the work. Regularly updated.
Online only. - The International Handbook of Children, Media and CultureCall Number: Mann Library HQ 784 .M3 I58 2008London: Sage, 2008.
Available online and in print format. - The Oxford Companion to Children's LiteratureCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN 1009 .A1 C29 20152nd edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Available online and in print format. - The Oxford Companion to Fairy TalesCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN 3437 .O94 20152nd edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Available online and in print format. - The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 169.1 .O945 2013 +2 volumes. New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Available online and in print format. - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Crime, Media, and Popular CultureNew York: Oxford University Press, 2018.
Online only - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Online only - Routledge Encyclopedia of Citizen MediaNew York: Routledge, 2021.
Online only. - St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference ML 102 .R27 S7 2018 +Farmington Hills, MI: St. James Press, 2018.
Available online and in print format. - War and American Popular Culture: A Historical EncyclopediaCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 181 .W26x 1998Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. Second copy in the Olin Library Stacks.
Popular Culture by Region or Geography
- Asian American Culture: From Anime to Tiger MomsSanta Barbara, CA: Greenwood/ABC Clio, 2016.
Online only.
- Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & AfricaCall Number: Olin Library Reference HM 626 .C843 2012 +Available online and in print format.
4 volumes. London: Sage, 2012. - The Greenwood Guide to American Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 169.1 .G7555x 2002 +4 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
- Handbook of American Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference E 169.1 .H229 19892nd edition. 3 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1989.
See also The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture, above. - Handbook of Chinese Popular CultureCall Number: Kroch Library Asia HM 101 .H255x 1994Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
- Handbook of French Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library DC 33.7 .H23 1991Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1991. Also shelved in Olin Reference.
- Handbook of Japanese Popular CultureCall Number: Kroch Library Asia DS 822.5 .H23New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Also shelved in Olin Reference.
- Handbook of Latin American Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library F 1408.3 .H23Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985. Also shelved in Olin Reference.
- Handbook of Spanish Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Reference DP 48 .S68x 1999Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
- Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Olin Library Oversize DS 36.88 .H357 2005 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
- Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Kroch Library Asia Oversize DS 727 .L358 2007 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2007.
- Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Olin Library Oversize DD 239 .F737 2006 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
- Pop Culture in Asia and OceaniaCall Number: Kroch Library Asia Oversize DS 12 .P55 2016 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2016.
- Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Kroch Library Asia Oversize DS 428.2 .K38 2006 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2006.
- Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Olin Library Oversize F 1414.2 .S495 2005 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
- Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and LifestyleCall Number: Olin Library Oversize DK 510.762 .B48 2005 +Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2005.
- Pop Culture Places: An Encyclopedia of Places in American Popular CultureCall Number: Olin Library Oversize E 159 .K65 2014 +3 volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2014. Also shelved in Olin Reference.
- Routledge Handbook of East Asian Popular CultureCall Number: Kroch Library Asia Oversize DS 509.3 .R68 2017 +New York: Routledge, 2017.
