GOVT 4000 (Fall 2021): The Politics of Policing : Searching databases

America: History and Life (AHL) covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Offers strong coverage of US government, policy, and foreign relations topics.

Produced by the International Political Science Association, indexes and summarizes articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Includes articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English. Coverage from 1989 - present

Identifies articles, essays, books chapters and monographs on history worldwide (except the US and Canada. See above). Offers strong coverage of political history from pre-history to the present.

Proquest databases search the full text of articles for your search terms. To find more relevant results, where your search terms are part of the title, abstract, or subject terms, begin your search with NOFT, followed by your search terms in parentheses, e.g. NOFT(autocra* AND democra* and backsliding)
Covers political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.).

Africa-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present.

Identifies principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971

"GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas." [publisher]

Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

Covers 1992 to date.

Identifies journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.

Covers research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.

Identifies articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women’s studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.