Peace Studies: A Guide to Reference Sources: Newspaper Databases

AllAfrica posts over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well offering a 900,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.

In-depth, full-text information, from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Access limited to 10 seats. Full-text online service for international news and business information
From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search.
Note: the home page opens to the day's news from the Wall Street Journal, among others (with a drop-down menu to dates over the past week). Use the Search link from the homepage navigation bar to search all of the sources in Factiva.
Includes BBC Monitoring:
Round-the-clock monitoring of TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies from around the world from primarily open media sources.
Ability to provide "the words as spoken" -- accurate and impartial translations of what leading figures have said.
From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search.
Enter BBC Monitoring for Source.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts
From thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages
From 1941-1996.

Covers papers worldwide. Dates of coverage varies by newspaper. To identify specific papers and dates of coverage, check the Publications link on the home page.
For the U.S., Global newsstream includes The New York Times (1990 - ), The Washington Post (1996- current), The Los Angeles Times (1996 - current) and The Wall Street Journal Online (2010 - current), among many others.

Not currently updated.
A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.

Select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types.
If you wish, use the date limits to restrict your results to a particular date range.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

July 1994 - .
World News Connection was closed down at the end of 2013. No new content after December 31, 2013. The material was obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and and socioeconomic issues and events. For earlier years, see: FBIS, above.

Select "News" from the top banner.
Enter keywords and phrases to find your search terms anywhere in an article.
Or, begin your search with hlead followed by your search terms in parentheses to find your search terms in the headline or lead paragraph. This may help to improve relevancy. Example: hlead(medicaid expansion)
To find longer articles add and length >1000 (1000, 1500, etc.). Example: hlead(medicaid expansion) and length>1000
Note: To find editorials, add and section (editorial or opinion).
You can also begin by finding and then adding specific sources to search: From the top banner, select "Sources." Then select Publication Type > News and Publication Location.
Please note: You do not need to register with Nexis Uni to search or download content. Registering with a database will always carry privacy risks.