Peace Studies: A Guide to Reference Sources: Country Background

Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Also includes contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and official, including international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.

"....a comprehensive guide to international relations and national domestic politics throughout the world. Includes biographies of leaders and intellectual figures along with twenty-three interpretive essays, and a new section comparing different perspectives on six critical issues.
The collection of Critical issues essays offer two different perspectives on Affirmative Action, Censorship, The Limits of Liberal Democracy, The Future of Entitlements, Sustainable Development, The United Nations. These essays are followed by 23 interpretive essays on a wide-range of core political science topics.

Available in the Sage Knowledge database, Political Handbook of the World provides updated political profiles of all of the world's countries and details the history and activities of a number of intergovernmental organizations. Each country profile provides basic facts about the country, detailed background information on the country's history, government and politics, and political parties. Use the Advanced Search to search by regime type, party system, electoral system, system of government, and by region.

Available in the Sage Knowledge database, Political Handbook of the World provides updated political profiles of all of the world's countries and details the history and activities of a number of intergovernmental organizations. Each country profile provides basic facts about the country, detailed background information on the country's history, government and politics, and political parties. Use the Advanced Search to search by regime type, party system, electoral system, system of government, and by region.