Ask a Librarian!
If you need help at any point in you research process, please reach out to us!
You can reach out to me directly at jdd10@cornell.edu, or to Mann Library at mann-ref@cornell.edu. There's no question too big or too small, and it's never too early (or too late) to get in touch with us!
You can also get help via chat: just clock on the blue "Chat with Us" tab on the right side of the screen, or go to our Ask A Librarian page.
Researching Organizations
These tools will help you find associations in your interest area. Some of the tools also allow you to research the financial health and management of a member organization or non-profit entity. You also can find relevant associations mentioned in industry reports, articles, and directories. Use the Gale Directory Library to find the National and International Associations Directories.
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration
- IRS Tax StatisticsHere you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.
- Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.
- Gale Directory LibraryThe Gale Directory Library provides online access to several publications including Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Market Share Reporter, Tradeshows Worldwide and more.
Evaluating Your Sources
- Evaluating Web Sites (Cornell University Library)Tips for evaluating the sources you find on the web.
- Critical Thinking CommunityProvides articles and papers on critical thinking. Promotes the development of critical thinking for students and others.
- Tutorial on Annotated BibliographyTutorial on Annotated Bibliography
Research is a Process
