LibGuides: PADM 5118: Diversity in Leadership: Experience, Perspective and Relatability in Public Affairs: Finding articles & case studies

Tips for Finding Articles

The easiest way to find articles is to use the Articles & Full Text option on the library homepage.
A more precise way to search for articles is to select and browse Research Guides on the library homepage, especially those recommended in this and other library guides.
In the databases, choose the advanced or guided searches (usually 3 lines) to help you correctly format your search.
Use OR between your search terms to broaden the search to include any of the terms.
Use AND between your search terms to narrow the search to include all the terms.
Find full text within the databases in html or pdf format.
Use the GetIt!Cornell to link to full text found outside of the database.
Ask a Librarian if you need further help!

Top resources

ABI/Inform
ABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. Also known as ProQuest.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
Sociology Source Ultimate
An expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.”

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
This comprehensive work covers Anthropology. Archaeology, Demography, Economics, Education, Geography, History,Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Political science, Clinical and applied psychology, Cognitive psychology and cognitive science, Developmental, social, personality and motivational psychology, and Sociology.

Case studies

Many of the resources on this page are just as useful for finding case studies as they are for finding articles and other resources! Just add "case study" as a search term when using Advanced Search, or any search that allows more than one term at a time.

To find out more about running case studies, including case studies focused on leadership, check out the SAGE Research Methods database:

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals. In addition, SRMO contains content from more than 640 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.

Additional resources

Find articles via library databases. Searches retrieve articles from thousands of publications. Here are suggested databases.

ScienceDirect
Online service for scientific research that contains the full text of Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also includes reference books and the Research in...series of article complations.

Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). These networks encourage the rapid distribution of research by publishing submitted abstracts and soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. Journals, publishers, and other cooperating institutions provide working papers for distribution. The SSRN eLibrary consists of an abstract database containing abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.

Web of Science
The Web of Science citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides citations from 1963 to the present, and abstracts since 1974, to journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine and law, religion and science, social psychology and group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.
MSCI ESG Direct
A comprehensive research database, measuring the environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance of corporations. The web-based database contains ESG and controversial business involvement research on more than 4,000 companies in 50+ global markets. The database provides over 200 ESG indicators and over 2,000 ESG points. It provides continuous global coverage for involvement in controversial lines of business, such as nuclear power, tobacco, and weapons. Previously known as ESG Manager on Campus.