Nonprofit Resources
Several books and databases in the Cornell Library collection related to nonprofits are listed below. If you need additional similar items, search the library catalog or contact your library staff.
- Foundation DirectoryThe Foundation Center directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.
- GuideStar PremiumGuideStar Premium is a searchable database that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members.
- Leadership ConnectLeadership Connect (formerly Leadership Directory) is a great tool for creating lists of contacts. The database allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location. Ideal for searching NGOs, government agencies, board memberships, and not-for-profit organizations.
Locating Nonprofit Data for Research
- StatistaStatista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the USThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsFrom the Urban Institute. NCCS is a research center and open data platform dedicated to advancing the knowledge and understanding of the nonprofit and charitable sector.
External Resources
- Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator provides information on over five thousand charities, including financial evaluations.
- GrantForwardStarting in July, 2012, Cazoodle took over the hosting and managing of an improved version of the University of Illinois IRIS grant search service. The new platform, called Grant Forward, features enhanced search and user account interfaces as well as new tools to help institutions annotate and disseminate grant information.
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization SearchFind information about an organization's tax-exempt status and filings. You can use the online search tool or download specific data sets.
- National Council of NonprofitsProvides research, reports, and data on the nonprofit sector
- The Nonprofit Times"The leading publication for nonprofit news, marketing and management."
Additional resources
- BBB Wise Giving AllianceReports on major U.S. charitable organizations. Reports provide program, financial, and governance information and rate organizations on their compliance with the CBBB Standards for Charitable Solicitation.
- Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator provides information on over five thousand charities, including financial evaluations.
- CandidCandid was born February 1, 2019, when Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces. We connect people who want to change the world with the resources they need to do it. Every year, millions of nonprofits spend trillions of dollars around the world. We find out where that money comes from, where it goes, and why it matters. Through research, collaboration, and training, we connect nonprofits, foundations, and individuals to the resources they need to do good, building on 88 years of dedicated experience.
- Guidestar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
- idealist.orgA "global clearinghouse of nonprofit and volunteering resources", offering a directory of volunteer opportunities and other resources.