Medieval Studies: A guide to library research at Cornell: Published Primary Sources

Classical and Medieval primary sources in translation.

A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

Online corpus of multilingual texts of Irish literature and history and the arts. Includes Old, Middle, Classical and Early Modern Irish, Scottish Gaelic, Latin, English and German, French, and English translations of Irish texts. It is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing/Digital Humanities project.

Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

The Icelandic Saga Database is an online resource dedicated to publishing the Sagas of the Icelanders — a large body of medieval Icelandic literature. The sagas are prose histories describing events that took place amongst the Norse and Celtic inhabitants of Iceland during the period of the Icelandic Commonwealth in the 10th and 11th centuries CE.

Selected excerpts of sources translated into English full-text online arranged chronologically and geographically. Helpful for getting a sense of the types of medieval sources and for bibliography.

A guide to translated sources. Geography and type features particularly useful.

Many in English.

The complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Print volumes.

A complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Index volumes are 218-221. Texts from AD 200 through the 13th century plus later ecclesiastical and humanistic scholarship.
Print volumes: Patrologia Cursus Compeletus.
PDF of print volumes in HathiTrust.

Incomplete and in progress. Selected works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature. Volumen 1: Antiquity, Patristic period up to 500, Vulgate Bible; Volumen II: Second Patristic Period, 501-735; Volumen III: 736-1500 and Neo-Latin period 1501-present. Includes texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965), as well as the complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis. Includes many volumes published in the Corpus Christianorum, both the Series Latina and the Continuatio Mediaeualis, and the opera omnia of major authors. Helpful Guide to Searching, from Berkeley

Latin literature from the Roman Republic to the Imperial Period and Late Antiquity. The database is the electronic version of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana. Complete, except for prefaces or critical apparatus, from the standard editions (editions maiores) of about 800 works spread over eleven centuries (c. 300 BC/BCE to c. 800 AD/CE).

Includes many digitized classic medieval collections of primary sources originally published in the 19th century such as the multi-volume Recueil des historiens des croisades. Use the [challenging] Gallica catalog to find the fulltext.

Helen Davis, Special Collections, Boole Library, University College Cork.

A Cooperative Project of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago, ARTFL is a research tool for scholars and students in all areas of French Studies. Full-text online of nearly 2000 French texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. A Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings has recently been added. The Web interface allows one to search the corpus easily for words, stems, phrases and co-occurrences.

Allows searching across all the medieval and classical digital corpora produced by Brepols.

Online corpus of multilingual texts of Irish literature and history and the arts. Includes Old, Middle, Classical and Early Modern Irish, Scottish Gaelic, Latin, English and German, French, and English translations of Irish texts. It is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing/Digital Humanities project.

Incomplete and in progress. Contains the texts processed thus far from the corpus of Celtic-Latin literature from the period 400-1200 as part of the Royal Irish Academy’s Dictionary of Medieval Latin from Celtic Sources project.

Incomplete. Selected texts from the five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates). As of fall 2007 only includes 800 texts.

A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

Incomplete and in progress. The aim of the database is not only to integrate different types of Latin dictionaries, whether modern, medieval or early-modern, but also to build in links between these different tools. Where the dictionaries provide Latin terms and vernacular equivalents or explanations (whether in contemporary or historic forms of English, French or German), searches will be possible on both the Latin lemmata and the English, French or German lemmata.

Also on CD-Rom in Olin Library. Call number: Reference Disk PE279 .D53 2003 Incomplete and in progress

The MEC provides access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English dictionary; a "hyperbibliography" of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies; and an associated network of electronic resources.

German interface. Comprehensive patristic records of the Vetus Latina Institute in Beuron. Complete information about the project